We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Burlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were here for yet another hockey tournament. Front desk staff was wonderful, very friendly. The Friday evening we arrived back at the hotel after a game and they were hosting a pizza party for the guests. You can imagine 17 hungry hockey players and the hotel thought this was just great. The man just kept putting out more pizza. The hotel is older, but is kept up really nice. We had a corner king room and it was a really nice size. Everything was very clean. We were given a hospitality room to prepare meals for the boys.. Pool is pretty small, but the kids still had fun. Continental breakfast was really nice and you sit and overlook the bay while you eat. It was freezing when we were here but would have liked to walk the downtown area. Actually booked a stay here in March for my in-laws before we left.

Room Tip: Corner king was nice and roomy
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momof3hockeyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We certainly recognize the importance of Sport Tourism and the contribution you and teams like yours make to the Waterfront Hotel. It means a great deal for you to recognize the pizza party, the nice room, our housekeeping, complimentary breakfast and our overall hospitality. We look forward to your return visits and hope you had a very successful hockey season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 412 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Location is the only thing going for this dated establishment. A big plus is the Beaver and Bulldog Pub located off of the main lobby. That being said, the brunch served there was just okay. Would have been better to cross the street to any of the many establishments in the downtown area, however the brunch was included with the room.
Took the advice of previous travelers and secured a room remote from the elevators and overlooking the park...many thanks!

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the park or lake and not near elevators
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnp4419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We strive to exceed our guests expectations not just meet them and invite you to contact me about any specific areas where we can improve. Thank you also for recognizing our great downtown location, our complimentary breakfast as well as our restaurant (Beaver and Bulldog). We look forward to your return visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The rooms are very tired and dated. In fact out room 213 was depressing, the view out of the window was the lower roof full of AC chimmneys. The windows are small, which make the room quiet dark. Its not a room you want to spend much time in. Checkin staff were friendly and efficient as was the breakfast staff. The breakfast its self is not really worth getting up for. The quality was not good. Would I stay again? No.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaBrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to acknowledge our "friendly and efficient staff". We apologize you did not find your room satisfactory as we strive each day to satisfy the needs of all of our guests. To that end we invite you to make us aware of any future visits to Burlington so that we may have the opportunity to improve on your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Waterfront Hotel is in a good location, close to many good restaurants. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room was also quite cool and took quite awhile to warm up, but at 2 am it became too warm. Rooms are heated and cooled by little units under the window. The hallways are a little old and tired looking and the elevators rattle. We stayed at this hotel before when it was called something else, happened to be there during a hockey tournament and didn't get any sleep. This time the parking lot was empty, so we thought we would get a quiet sleep, we couldn't have been more wrong. The hotel put a young couple in a room beside us and when the bars closed brought four young guys up to their room and at 2:30 and partied until 4. The guys then left and went to the park beside the hotel and vadilized the Christmas light display. I guess the hotel has no security monitoring. Couldn't tell you what the breakfast buffet is like, because we couldn't sleep anymore and checked out at 5am. Our little romantic getaway didn't end very well. What really gets me, is that we travel the world and stayed in some crazy places, but our local experiences always seem to be the worst of all. So if you want a place for uninterupted partying after the bars are closed, choose the Waterfront, for sleep go somewhere else. You might be lucky though as with some of the previous reviewers and get a quiet night.

Room Tip: Bring some eye shades it you need a dark room, the curtains didn't cover all the window to keep...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling_oscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to mention our location and cleanliness of which we are constantly focused on and proud of.
I do apologize for the guests who disturbed your "get-away". Our staff work hard to identify and act upon any situations which may disturb our guests or their enjoyment. We again apologize for our failure to identify this particular incident and do wish for you to know that at the very earliest possible time all possible action was taken in regards to what you have reported above. I hope you find time for future "get-aways" and invite you to contact the Waterfront Hotel when making your plans. I also want to wish you and your family a Happy, Healthy and Safe Holiday Season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I visit my son, who lives in Burlington, a couple of times a year and have stayed at The Waterfront on my last two visits. We chose it because of its great location. Too bad all of that potential is wasted. We received poor service from the front desk during both stays. The last time they changed our reservation without notifying us and didn't even tell us at check in. We didn't realize it until we arrived at our room. The room we ended up with was close to the elevator and quite noisy, in addition to being a lesser room than we had reserved. When I emailed the manager with my concerns, I never received a respose. Doesn't seem like they care much. I'll choose a hotel in a less desirable location for my visits in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our stay with us. Thank you also for your previous visits to the Waterfront Hotel while visiting family in the area. I apologize for your most recent experience and the delay in responding to you. I certainly agree, whether or not changes were made in an attempt to enhance your experience any changes made should most certainly have been done in conjunction with you. All staff of the Waterfront Hotel are commited to the service of our customers and again we apologize for our failure in doing so. We hope future visits to our great city are in your travel plans and we hope that the Waterfront Hotel will be apart of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have never been to Burlington before, chose Waterfront Hotel for it's location and it was MOST definitely a great choice. Hotel is comfortable, clean, staff was very helpful. I will be visiting the area several times in the next few months and will definitely stay at Waterfront everytime

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbc1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, and are glad we could play a part in your first trip to Burlington being an enjoyable one. We appreciate your recognition of our staff and helpful service and we look forward to continually providing these services as well as enhancing future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Waterfront Hotel fronting Lake Ontario in the Canadian city of Burlington, Ontario (a 45 minute drive from Toronto, Ontario) is a perfect get-away if you are looking for a fabulous view of the lake, complete with a lovely park right next door with accessible side-walks along the waterfront, this may be the place for you! The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. A very good breakfast is included daily. Easy walking distance to a very good selection of shops, services and many restaurants (there is also an on-site pub-style restaurant). And on the Labour Day weekend every September there is a 'Rib-Fest' which is a sight to behold, boldly inviting visitors of all ages to enjoy the many types of barbequed ribs offered during the spirited competition (free admission)!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Lake Ontario.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for your comments from your recent stay. We appreciate the time taken to recognize our staff, our service and amenities. We share your excitment of the Lake and the tremendous festivals that enhance our customers experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterfront Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burlington hotels
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto / Burlington
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 14 in Burlington
176 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel & Conference Centre
2.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Burlington
Quality Hotel Burlington
#5 of 14 in Burlington
438 reviews
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington

Address: 2020 Lakeshore Rd, Burlington, Ontario L7R 4G8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Burlington
Price Range: $135 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Hotel-Downtown is a landmark in the city of Burlington, Ontario, on the shores of Lake Ontario. With spectular panoramic views and all the conveniences of downtown within steps of the hotel. A perfect getaway with inspiring waterfront parkland and trails, unique shopping, museums, exquisite dining and world class festivals situated less than an hour from Toronto and Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Travel Lodge
Burlington Travelodge
Travel Lodge Burlington
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing