We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Burlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dundas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst hotel experience ever”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We checked into the Waterfront Hotel, it smelled musty, but were very tired so we checked in anyways. As we walked down the hall to our room the smell got worse. Our room smelled too. After a little while, we couldn't take it anymore, called the front desk and told them about it. It smelled like a cat litter box and cigarette smoke. They gave us some air cleaner device that only made things worse. We were so tired, we attempted to go to sleep. I awoke a short time later hardly being able to breath, because I had major allergies to whatever was in the air. We decided to checkout at 1:30am, NO JOKE. We were offered another room and declined as we felt miserable and needed medication for our allergies. Since then, we've argued with Expedia.ca trying to get a refund - they offered a $30 voucher for our next stay. The hotel manager Jason Stoner who claims never knew we left a message or wanted to speak with him, never returned phone calls even after telling a health inspector he would call us. Jason likes to do everything possible to avoid a refund, even though our experience was so extreme. He offered a voucher for another visit to the same hotel. Why would we ever want to go back after this experience? We will be taking this to small claims court if things aren't resolved to our satisfaction.

Room Tip: Rooms in a different hotel are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dundas2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake2020, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for your comments and please accept my apologies if you felt that our efforts to compensate you for any inconvenience were either insufficient or disingenuous. I have again spoken with Expedia and have agreed to initiate a refund for the cost of your stay with us. Let me further assure you that the Waterfront Hotel takes the health and wellbeing of its guests and employees very seriously. I personally investigated this matter along with our executive housekeeper and an inspector from the Region of Haltons Health Department. Although no issues were discovered we’ve completed a very thorough cleaning in this and the adjacent rooms. Accordingly our hope is that you will stay with us again in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    133
    80
    54
    51
See reviews for
82
105
14
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I thought it stank a bit. I was on the first floor and I remember that it had the smell of an old basement. The room are okay but not astonishing but you sleep well, its not noisy. The breakfast is the basic of every american breakfast; cereal, weird looking sausages, toast, tea and coffee. I was there for Canada's largest ribfest which was held in the park next door and there was no parking. Very hard to find some anyway. Because of this event, it was SO expensive. Staff was really really helpful though!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake2020, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments. The Waterfront Hotel is proud to be actively involved in and a sponsor of the ”world-class” festivals that take place in Spenser Smith Park located directly beside us in the downtown core. At times these events create some challenges including parking. During these times we employ additional staff dedicated to managing our resources and ensuring our customers are our highest priority in all aspects of their stay. We apologize for the issues faced and appreciate you taking your time to recognize our complimentary breakfast as well as the efforts of all of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Pictures of rooms on Hotel.com are according to staff wrong. We booked a superior room with a jacuzzi and the picture on hotel.com shows thats what you get with a superior room. Here at the hotel that is not a superior room that the standard room is the superior room and no superior rooms are availbable in the hotel. Beds are good ,,,, they are trying to repair hot tub.. dont know if that is ongoing or what ... front office staff not very accomodating and why did we pay extra for a less than average room? We asked for a lakeviw and hotels.com phoned and said they had lots of rooms and said there should not be a problem. We asked hotels.com if we could go to another hotel and get a refund... we were told that there was no manager at the hotel to approve that and that we were stuck at this hotel unless we wanted to forfeit our prepayment. We also received a sidewalk view of the park on the 1st floor. Staff at hotel say we dont control what pictures hotel.com put up and hotels.com say that the hotel provides the pictures which one is lying?

Room Tip: Do not ask for or a superior room as they will give you a standard room anyways. Report to BBB as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank icub4udo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake2020, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
We wish to apologize for the confusion experienced by you during your recent stay. Apparently due to some recent changes “Superior” rooms as defined by provider have been correctly described but incorrectly depicted. While there are some delays and at times frustrations dealing with third parties we do not wish it to take away from your experience. We take great care to ensure our own website (pictures and wording) as well as others provide accurate information regarding our product. We have taken action to address this most recent mix-up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed two days for a local hockey tournament. Good location for QEW access. Front desk staff were friendly and efficient. Free WiFi and complimentary parking for one vehicle. Our fourth floor room overlooked Lake Ontario. Room was a little worn but found beds were good. Bathroom was large and clean. The free breakfast was OK. Overall I found this hotel to be reasonable value for this part of the GTA.

Room Tip: For weekend stays I advise phoning in advance to see if they have any hockey teams staying as they t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ph1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake2020, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding our property. Your acknowledgment of our cleanliness as well as our friendly and efficient staff are a source of pride for all of our hard working staff. Your especially insightful tip regarding sport teams is another area The Waterfront Hotel and our Guest Services Team work very hard on ensuring that all groups including teams, wedding, reunion or corporate groups are as close together as possible to limit interference or disruption from others during each stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Had two nights here at the start of our recent Ontario trip.
Not a great start I'm afraid - If we weren't visiting friends I would have moved on for sure.
Plus point was the hotel location but I feel it is the only thing this hotel has got in it's favour and perhaps is why all else is poor.
I had booked a corner lake view suite but to be honest I wished I hadn't bothered.
The bed was comfortable enough but all the other fittings were tired and mis matched.
The breakfast the hotel serves up is in-edible.
I did try to complain but as others have said the staff don't appear to care.
It's a shame really as although I am not in the hotel industry I am a business person and I could see great potential in this hotel location if someone with flair and deep pockets took this place on.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AllanWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake2020, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent trip to Ontario. We hope you enjoyed your visit with friends and are glad you enjoyed our new bedding.

We apologize for your negative experience during breakfast. We pride ourselves not only our location but in our customer service and the overall customer experience including the complimentary breakfast we provide to all of our guests. To ensure a better experience and the quality of our product we will continue to prepare fresh and inspect each day all items we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Overall a very average hotel, although located in the heart of Burlungton. Friendly front desk staff and free WiFi

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ausjay75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My boyfriend and I were celebrating our one year anniversary and thought being right downtown and by the water would be handy and romantic. We arrived around 4 (an hour after the check-in time) and the room that we were being given was not clean yet. Instead of offering us another room that was clean, we were told to wait. Waited 15 minutes and had to ask if my room was ready (too much for her to check on her own). The room we were given was below the main "check-in" floor, which just so happened to be on the same level as the laundry service room for staff, the pool and gym, never have I heard of this in any hotel I've been to. The room was worn, dated and in much need of repairs. Not worth the money at all. Never again, and I will check reviews before booking next time I book a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank natey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burlington hotels
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto / Burlington
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 14 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Burlington
Quality Hotel Burlington
#5 of 14 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel & Conference Centre
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington

Property: Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington
Address: 2020 Lakeshore Rd, Burlington, Ontario L7R 4G8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Hotel-Downtown is a landmark in the city of Burlington, Ontario, on the shores of Lake Ontario. With spectular panoramic views and all the conveniences of downtown within steps of the hotel. A perfect getaway with inspiring waterfront parkland and trails, unique shopping, museums, exquisite dining and world class festivals situated less than an hour from Toronto and Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Travel Lodge
Burlington Travelodge
Travel Lodge Burlington
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing