We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding but tables too close”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of SB Prime

SB Prime
Ranked #96 of 471 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $31
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Steakhouse, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Elgin Street
Transit: We are just Steps Away from the Burlington Downtown Transit Terminal
Description: Located at 390 Brant Street facing Elgin Street. A small boutique style Steakhouse with a chic, urban feel - sit at one of our high tables, grab dinner at the bar or perch yourself at the counter of our open kitchen for a front row view of our talented chef's. Join us Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday after work for our most bustling Cocktail Hours of the the week, with the Piano playing in the lounge 4pm - 8pm Friday Nights and Solo Guitar players Monday's & Wednesday Night's. We offer 1/2 price Appetizers, $8 Martinis, Wine and Beer specials every day in the Lounge from 4pm-6pm, or as we like to call it 'Power Hour' the perfect after work wind down... And Mondays are all about Wine, with half price bottles every Monday. Lounge buy outs available for our popular Cocktail Parties
toronto, canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Outstanding but tables too close”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

We indulged in the b4 7pm special. $19 pp for an app, main & dessert. Great way to check out what the restaurant has to offer. Food was amazing. Fresh, hot & very tasty. Great wait staff - attentive but not intrusive. My only complaint was that as we were having a great time they sat another couple next to us. The male was obnoxious - he should have gone to the local McD's or hot dog stand. We debated asking to be moved but had just started our mains. I'd go back again just ensure that we had a more private table. The special goes up to $39 after 7pm -- still well worth it!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hammy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    30
    16
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, On
Level Contributor
169 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very good steak meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

My wife and I recently had a dinner at SB Prime. It was a very good meal. For an appetizer, we had the Boudin Croquette and we were impressed. Our salads were good, not great. The steaks (tenderloin and rib eye respectively) were very good and cooked as ordered. It wasn't the best steak we had ever had but it was very good and not overpriced. The service was very friendly and helpful (the waitress talked us out of ordering an extra side as she said it would be too much food - she was right).

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NKLounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

The service was prompt, always there, but not overbearing.
We were allowed to linger over our drinks & appetizers.
The food arrived on time & was of top quality.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Carole073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go elsewhere!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Visited on Saturday, July 9th. Food was awful!
Seared Duck Breast was overcooked and chewy. Pickerel needed to be seasoned with salt which I had to ask for three times! Mash potatoes were cold. Wine was not cold enough but the waitress brought extra ice & it was chilled by the time we finished our meal. I suggest going elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SShellyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STONEY CREEK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We went to SB Prime, only because we had a $100 coupon for $50. On arrival, the doors were locked and we had to find someone, via the kitchen entrance to unlock them, as they were supposed to be open at that time. We knew that the prices were high and so ordered from the Prix fixe menu, at $39/each, for 4 courses. The amuse bouche was ok but the appetizers were disappointing. The salmon fritters were alright but a very small portion. The caesar salad, listed at $13, was several leaves(unchopped up) on a plate with 3 rashers of bacon on top and about 4-5 croutons. The dressing was very bland and we've had better caesars at East Side Marios, where it is complimentary with the meal. The sorbet between the appetizers and the entrees was a nice touch. Our entrees of the chicken and strip loin were very good and the $6 parmesan fries as well. The $9 green beans were basic and tasteless. The desserts, (cheesecake) that we took home, were good.
The total cost of our meal, including the cheapest bottle of wine at $30, was $137.00 including tax and a 15% tip. A la carte, this would have been $172.00. Too much for a dressed up sports bar. A "fine dining restaurant should at least provide table cloths or minimally place mats. The service was good considering that we were the only ones in the restaurant.
We will never return due to the high prices, since we feel there are much better dining options around Burlington, in this or a lower price range. We would go to Napoleons, Lord Byron or even Shakespeares in Hamilton, ahead of SB Prime.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanuckKips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SB Prime also viewed

 

Been to SB Prime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing