We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Maple Chinese Buffet - CLOSED

Red Maple Chinese Buffet
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Hamilton, Ont.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Good food, clean, lots of choices. Quick service.Very similar to The Mandarin.

Helpful?
2 Thank daisylooHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    17
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

A very good buffet with lots of choice. Good quality.

Helpful?
Thank Marby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Can feed a group very well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Went with about 90 people in the early eafternoon on Sunday. There was ample food and service was quick. Nice ribs, noodle dishea, dumplings, salads and soups all seemed fresh and tasty.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mellowjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad service!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

I have been here numerous times over the last 3 years. It used to be great. The problem is, it's the same old dishes every time! Rarely any thing new. The staff leave a lot to be desired. They tend to be curt and not at all friendly and seem to have quite the attitude. I went myself in November, and the place was quite busy, and the food trays were constantly empty. I went again before Christmas, and i will NEVER go again. the place was jammed. We waited 15 minutes, and no one even checked us in. The waiter kept coming into the waiting area saying, "who's next"?? I didn't realize it was the customers job to figure that out. Very disappointed. They also have racked the price up quite a bit. It used to be $7.99. Now it's over $10.00. For another $1.00, I can go to the Mandarin, and have much more selection, and excellent service. Bye!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One brusque tallish waiter who did not get a tip (we were the long table in back, left side of restaurant)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Tuesday, January 17th, 1 pm (Burlington Restaurant)

I've never not given a tip, so today's waiter made history by tipping the scale for me and my colleagues. Our waiter was brusque, rude, and bossy. I am sure there are nicer ways to tell a customer that the restaurant does not have debit; asking simple questions should not cause the waiter to snap as if our presence was irriitating or annoying. Nor should a waiter tell a customer what currency to carry just so the waiter's life can be made easier. We are your customers - not vice versa. Having been in the service industry, I know firsthand that it's not all roses when serving the public. LEARN TO HIDE IT or get out of the industry. You are harming an otherwise fantastic restaurant. Red Maple owners, do yourselves a favour and find out which waiters aren't getting tips as they are not only shortchanging their earnings, but are also tarnishing your good reputation. I'm sure you don't put that much effort into your business to have one waiter ruin it for you.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank customer1mil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Maple Chinese Buffet also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing