We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best takeout in brantford. ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nanking Restaurant

Nanking Restaurant
Ranked #92 of 263 Restaurants in Brantford
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best takeout in brantford. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Nanking is strictly takeout now. They're in the same building on the other side. I always get a meal for one here and the portions are huge! You get so much food for the price. By far the best Chinese in town.

Helpful?
3 Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara falls
Level Contributor
185 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“1982 Called - They Want Their Chinese Restaurant Back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

A dated Chinese restaurant that serves "Canadian" style Chinese fare. The place is coated with cigarette smoke and stains, but the food is good. The place is located in the middle of a weird plaza and hard to find without the help of locals.

I would not go out of my way to eat at this restaurant, but the food was decent.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank NFTravller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Typical Canadian-Chinese”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

The food was not memorable. It was typical north american Chinese food.

Helpful?
1 Thank kang_a_ji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mediocre, at best.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

While they are cheap, the food is always bland or over-salted. I never eat their food anymore unless someone else insists on going . I feel this place has survived in Brantford due to lack of competition, but now that there are two new places in north Brantford that are significantly better, I am curious to see if they'll stick around.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FlipLvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food portions are huge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

I always go there for lunch on Mondays and always have left overs. The lady that work on the dining room on Mondays is really funny!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dsmith154983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nanking Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nanking Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing