We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst ESM I've ever eaten in”
Review of East Side Mario's

East Side Mario's
Ranked #42 of 266 Restaurants in Brantford
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Hey Budda Boom Budda Bing! We are the Home of All-You-Can-Eat soup or salad and garlic home loaf and offer delicious Italian meals at great value. At East Side Mario’s your family is our family and we are committed to deliver Amore in everything we do!
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worst ESM I've ever eaten in”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Food was cold & under cooked. Overpriced for what you get.The restaurant is dirty & staff don't seem to care. I guess the owners aren't on site often enough. We should of gone to BOSTON PIZZA instead. Never again will I patronize an ESM!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    35
    21
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disgusting! Mold in the menus, hair in food, food in straws!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

East Side Mario’s

Price Range: $10-$25
Cleanliness: 0
Atmosphere: 2
Menu Selection: 6
Service: 1
Food Quality: 2
Overall Experience: 1
What we’ve ordered: House salad, Caesar salad, Breadsticks, Chicken Parmigiana, Mario’s Nachos, and Budda Boomers.

It’s been a while since we last ate at East Side Mario’s but for good reason. Our last visit was as a group of family and we were all very disappointed in the entire experience.

Upon arrival at the restaurant, we were told that there would be a 15 minute wait. While waiting to be seated, we noticed that every single picture frame and light fixture, which is numerous in this restaurant, was covered in cobwebs and dust to the point of being suspicious if anything was living in them still. After an hour of waiting we were told by the Manager that they had messed up with the seating and we would only wait another 15 minutes. If we were by ourselves, we wouldn’t have waited that long but our family was anticipating eating here. In the end we had to wait for over 2 hours to be seated, which is absurd.

We were finally seated in a secluded area in the back which was meant for parties or reservations but for being such a secluded area we couldn’t even hear each other talk across the table. The Manager came to apologize for the longer than stated wait time and offered us a free appetizer. Our waitress arrived and we were all very confused by her appearance. Not just because of her uniform, which is the same for all staff and management; sloppy and disgustingly revealing. It was also because her hair was as though she had just crawled out from hibernating; she was slurring all her words and was falling all over the table like she was drunk. She gave us our menus and stumbled off and it was another 10 minutes before we saw her again. When she returned, we asked about the appetizer we were supposed to receive but the Manager hadn’t told any of the Staff about it so we had to wait for that as well.

The menu at East Side Mario’s consists mostly of pasta or chicken entrée’s and little else but the most disturbing part was the amount of mold present under the plastic of the menu itself. Most items are reasonably priced but no one would come here at all if it wasn’t a deal sometimes.
When my Hubby took a sip of his drink, he found food bits in the straw and now in his mouth and when my meal was placed in front of me, there was a large hair visibly cooked into my food. We could barely even sit at the table as a family, with our plates, drinks, appetizer and salad on the table you could maybe sit 2 people? Our “bottomless” salad was more than half empty, wasn’t enough to feed all of us and was never refilled. The “Quarter Chicken” was literally a drumstick and a wing on a scrap of skin. My pasta looked as though it had sat out for a long time because it was so dried up. The chicken in all of our meals was hot on the outside and refrigerator temperature in the middle almost as though it was cooked in a microwave. Their pasta sauce tastes like watered down ketchup and everything was bland and flavorless. The meals were sad, tiny little portions and we were all skeptical of even eating what was placed in front of us. This was an awful meal.

We did not see our waitress again. We went without salad; bread sticks or drink refills for our entire meal. Another waitress came and delivered our bill, on which was a charge for the appetizer we were supposed to receive for free. We disputed the bill and the staff had to check with Manager, who had forgotten that she said when we were seated. She apologized and offered us an additional 10% off. We stood there waiting to leave while she typed out stuff on the computer. Our meal was paid for and upon reaching the parking and further examining the bill; we realized that she hadn’t even given us this discount either. We were all so fed up with this place; we just wanted to go home.

We have had some good times and good meals at East Side Mario’s in the past, but an incident as bad as this has ruined this restaurant for us. We do not recommend this place at all and even though they offer some cheap prices it is not worth the hassle. This is among the worst places to eat in Brantford in our opinion and we will never be returning again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Quick-RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice lunch menu.”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

A group of lady friends meets there and the lunch menu is very nice. They renovated the place a few year back and it is very pleasant, very clean. I never tried the evening meal so...

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 19Danyk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“horrible food”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Service was miserable. Pasta dish I ordered was cold and they had forgotten to add sauce. Everything was disappointing righ down to the coffee served after the meal was was old and burnt.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Typical chain fare.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

What can one say. The food was good but it was really no different than any other "trendy" chain. You know what to expect and they are all the same.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Garypip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Side Mario's also viewed

 
Brantford, Ontario
Brantford, Ontario
 

Been to East Side Mario's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing