We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting & romantic dining facility....very tastey cusine & pleasant servers”

The Olde School Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 265 Restaurants in Brantford
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Wellesley, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An interesting & romantic dining facility....very tastey cusine & pleasant servers”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband & I spent our '28th' wedding anniversary dinner in this wonderful 'Olde World' romantic atmosphere restaurant. We loved it! The food was delicious, the service was excellent & the whole ambience was filled with character & romance. The piano player just added an extra touch of fun to the whole experience.
The servers were very professional, polite & totally accommodating. Not easy to find this type of 'old fashion' service, coupled with good food, quaintness & light hearted fun.
We have tried many different dining establishments over the years, but I can honestly say, The Olde School restaurant has fast become one of our favourites.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    53
    21
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The "Old" School Restaurant”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This dining establishment is beyond disrepair in so many ways. The owner, Gus Illiopoulos, opened it back in 1982, with his brother George. It has gone through many renovations, each one worse than the one before, as Gus has no idea about style, flavour, or ambviance.

The menu is so dated that it is laughable, and also very over priced. When the restaurant originally opened, they would do Caesar Salads at your table, as well as Bananas Royale, Baked Alaska, and other desserts, with the presentations being very nice. They no longer do this, and seem apathetic in many other ways.

Gus Illiopoulos, has such a bad reputation around the city of Brantford, due to the facts that he constantly berates his staff in front of customers, and also is very rude to most of his patrons. The volume of customers has so dramatically decreased over the last 20 years that he depends on his mini-putt/driving range course across the highway to keep his faulty restaurant afloat.

There is a piano bar at The Olde School, but, the pianist is very limited in ability, and, when he attempts to sing, he sounds like a very weak and feeble imitation of Willie Nelson. It is like nails on an Olde School chalkboard. The original pianist/singer that was there from 1982 - 1991 was so much better, more professional, and much more talented. But, once again, due to his attitude, Gus also drove him away.

And, also, in the kitchen, the chefs constantly smoke, which should certainly not be allowed.

The high standards that were once in place have sadly departed, and I would never recommend this establishment to anyone. It had sat as a decrepid old country school for many years before becoming a restaurant, and it should return to that humble state.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
277 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“An excellent dinner, a high standard of service - and entertainment too!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Visited this lovely 'Olde Worlde' type restaurant between Brantford and Paris, Ontario recently with my wife and two friends.
We enjoyed an excellent dinner, from a menu with a huge choice, as well as a Table d'hote menu for the day - with all the good old fashioned service that one would expect from a restaurant of this standing.
The waiters were both attentive but also unobtrusive in their efforts to make this a meal to remember, right from the hors d'oeuvres, the starters and the main courses, to say nothing of the excellent chocolate mice we enjoyed for dessert!
Always a good sign, the owner was on hand to welcome everyone and to ensure that the standard of service remained high, indeed he himself assisted with the service.
There was also a gentleman at the piano for the evening - and one could sit at the piano bar and enjoy the music, even join in and sing, if one had a mind to! A really pleasant ambience for a nice evening!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tankerman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this place...”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My fiance and I came here and had a blast! The food is great and they are so accommodating. Gus is very personable and it's no wonder the Queen dined here! :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Erinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ont Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Old and Run down”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place needs some sprucing up, the silverware is old and the dinnerware had scratches all over it like its ancient. The food was OK but not that tastey. For the price we paid I was expecting more.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank clocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olde School Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Olde School Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing