We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pasta and Wine Bar”

Al Dente Pizza Pasta Grill
Ranked #8 of 264 Restaurants in Brantford
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Pasta and Wine Bar”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Food used to be consistant but last couple of times it has been less than perfect. They have been around for years and I am sure it was maybe a change in staff and we will be back. It is locally owned and operated and they also run wine tours throughout the year that are worth taking.

Helpful?
1 Thank ldhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    66
    29
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointed”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

The last few times we were there the food wasn't the best and the service, our waitress kept forgetting to bring us drinks such as water!

Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Value - Good Food”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We usually go to Al Dente and get their dinner for 2 special. You get two appetizers, two dinners and two desserts for $25 but I think the price has gone up. Since we don't usually have drinks this makes it a very inexpensive evening. The food is always great and the staff are wonderful. It's especially nice to sit out on their patio on a nice summer evening and enjoy dinner there.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Over priced over rated”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

7pm Sat night. Reservation waited in small lobby for 10 minutes then froze out in patio for another 15 minutes finally ate at 8pm
food average at best not even warm probably was just sitting in kitchen waiting for an order
this place has gone downhill big time chasing the almighty dollar

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlHendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caho1992, Owner at Al Dente Pizza Pasta Grill, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
I do remember your visit and I would like to apoligize for your uncomfortable wait it was cold that evening we did overbook the restaurant on that Saturday. one of our wine tours was going on that day they generally leave around 6:30 and we rebook the tables for 7 and we did take more reservations then we had space for I think the ripple effect of the one group leaving and then refilling so fast may have effected your food that evening we always prepare to order.
I know buying you your first round did not replace what should have been a great evening out
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and live music improves average food”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My wife and I visited this restaurant with friends last month. We sat outside in an area that is very well screened from the traffic and parking lot. I noticed that the inside tables seemed to be closer together than those outside. The food is average Italian-Canadian, with a number of different entres and pizzas. Our group ordered a mixture of pasta dishes and pizza. There is an extensive wine list with something that should please everyone including a number of Ontario selections. The food is O.K. but we wouldn't call it above average. The service was poor, no checking back with us and no follow-ups, they may have sold us more wine if they had come back more often.
The highlight for us was the live music, which brought us to the restaurant. Talented musicians play a mixture of jazz and light music throughout the evening.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Dente Pizza Pasta Grill also viewed

 

Been to Al Dente Pizza Pasta Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing