We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Pool!”

Brant Conservation Area
Ranked #14 of 43 things to do in Brantford
Attraction details
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Pool!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Such an amazing pool!!! IT's worth it alone.... but we had a great stay with a large groups. Some sites are close together, but that worked well for us with kids. Only downside is that there is an extra charge for the pool. I feel that it should be included in the cost of the camping. Also , puddle jumpers are not promitted, so don't bother packing them.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    25
    7
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“They shouldn't call this camping... stick to ontario parks”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Don't Camp HERE!
What a terrible excuse for a "campground"! It is more like an open field that they charge you money to sleep on. There was absolutely no privacy, no rules (underage partiers were drinking till 3am and no campground officials came around to control them - but like I said they're in a field so maybe they were having a field party!) the outhouse had no lock on the door, 2 out of the 4 stalls at the comfort station washrooms ran out of toilet paper and the water tap was overtaken by our neighboring partiers so that they could hose each other down and we had a good morning waking up to other peoples children wandering around our site.
And we thought our site was bad, they actually set a family of 4 up on a fork in the road across from the washrooms, not 1 tree to provide privacy for this "on display" family.
If your desperate for a last minute campsite, either find somewhere else or just stay home. We had booked a 2 night stay, and we left after 1 night, losing our $40 was a better option than staying another night.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank crzycrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid if tent camping --- campsite garbage & pests are out of control”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I'm an experienced tent camper, and know not to bring food into my tent, but poor control of garbage at this park, by both visitors and the park itself, means that pests are everywhere and the raccoons are conditioned to break into tents as a matter of policy. We had no food in our tent but nonetheless spent the night fending off little furry fingers from opening the zippers.(Yes, they have evolved - it's like Planet of the Apes, but with Racoons). I put a lock on it and scared them off, but in the daytime when we were away they chewed through the zippers and got in anyhow. What were they after? An empty grocery bag that might have come into contact with marshmallows. A neighbouring tent was also broken into while the family was sleeping. They may have actually had marshmallows in the tent, but seriously, these raccoons will break in even if there is just marshmallow residue on your kids face. We also encountered dozens of skunks scrounging for garbage. I also concur with the reviewer who noted that the park is dominated by more or less permanent residents in campers. I would note also that choicest spots along the river are for campers, not tents. This is probably the messiest camping spot I've encountered, and until this is better managed these pests will continue to take over the place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy_Kazahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“good and close”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Usually have enough spots for last minute camping, I like it cause it is close to our home about 40 minutes. river for fishing pool for kids.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“People Actual Live Here...”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I didn't realize that people live at this campground over the summer, and they don't seem to like outsiders. The park is clean, but a lot of trailers that have permanent residents in them look like junkyards - essentially it is a rundown trailer park in parts.

The full-timers seem to have their own rules, and like to tell you how to do things at "their" place...

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank NFTravller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brant Conservation Area also viewed

 
Brantford, Ontario
 

Been to Brant Conservation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing