We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old theatre, grand old style!!”

Sanderson Centre for the Performing Arts
Ranked #2 of 43 things to do in Brantford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ancaster, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful old theatre, grand old style!!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very comfortable, rich decor, performance very visable, airy!

I enjoyed our visit there very much. We felt very comfortable!

Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunnville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Beautiful hall- in a town not so beautiful”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I truly hope that Brantford can improve its central area, because this Sanderson Centre is one of the nicest centers I have attended. Years ago I saw George Carlton and it has the ability to provide a wonderful entertainment experience for all kinds of music and comedy. nicer than Hamilton Place, where I have season's tickets.

Helpful?
Thank leer850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a bad seat in the house”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have had the privilege of being able to see the Sanderson from both sides...on stage (and backstage) as a performer as well as a member in the audience. Nice, big, well lit dressing rooms, large stage, good acoustics, comfortable seats and a varied line-up of quality entertainment; both amateur and professional.
The seating is such that, even if you have a particularly tall person in front of you, you are still able to see without having to crane your head around.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beth_K_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Old but Charming”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you get to see a show at the Sanderson Centre, don't pass it up. The seating and view is excellent and it is quite an impressive theater.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Focused1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“rockin it with Lighthouse”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

recently attended at my local theatre to see "Lighthouse" perform, it was a terrific evening out. there is not a bad seat in the place. the seating is comfortable, large, nicely staggered. the price of drinks is a little steep, however they do have a water fountain beside the bar, but you will be lapping at it like a dog, thank goodness the bar staff saw the temperamental fountain, one minute it was trickling, the next up your nose. they offered us plastic cups to fill rather than spend 2.00 on bottled water.
we sat in row Q seats 5 and 6 - excellent, a little to the left of the theater, great seats, could see everything.
I have attended this theater before for other plays and venues and have sat in the "balcony" it is all on one level, just the "balcony" is further back. excellent layout.
just wish there were more plays at this theater.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank cattracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanderson Centre for the Performing Arts also viewed

 
Brantford, Ontario
Brantford, Ontario
 

Been to Sanderson Centre for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing