We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing to recommend it”

Yong Great Wall Buffet
Ranked #74 of 264 Restaurants in Brantford
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: (519) 753-0263 Just opened this week. All You Can Eat Buffet
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“nothing to recommend it”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

food was only warm, service almost non existing, some of the food ins had not been filled, some were just warmed over and some actually were cold,
it was like eating left over chinese take out

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank steve1336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    35
    18
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Price for Excellent Quality Food”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The price is excellent for a buffet, the other ones in town are either too expensive or cheap but with poor quality food. Yong Great Wall is the best of both, great price and excellent food.
We’ve gone for dinner three times now, and we haven’t had a bad time yet. The place is rather large, with lots of seating options and peaceful decorations and music. We’ve sat in each of the seating areas and found that while sitting at the front is our favourite, all of them are well placed and not too crowded. The Staff are quick to seat you and are attentive to their tables. Plates are cleared away very quickly and drinks are topped up frequently.
The buffet selection is quite good, and the Staff does a great job of replenishing food even when it’s not necessarily needed. All the food is kept hot, and the selection is decent. The plates are always clean and the buffet area is always being tended to, you never see food mixed in with other food or food outside of where it belongs. All the food has its’ own individual flavor, everything has a unique taste. Our favourite foods are the Sesame Chicken and the Peppered Beef; both are delicious and have a very savory flavor. They also offer some sushi, but I only recommend it during regular hours of business. It seems that it’s not too popular, and getting near the end of the night it looks a little dried out. The dessert choices are quite good; they offer fruit, ice cream, pies and cakes, pudding and some prepackaged options like Two Bite Brownies. The fruit itself is very fresh, when compared to other buffets; it’s actually juicy and ripe. The Apple Pie demands a recommendation; it is warm and fantastically made. There’s a decent mixture of Chinese and Canadian foods to eat, but the overall selection isn’t as large as some other buffets we’ve been to. But, for the price it is well worth the trip.
We very much enjoy going to Yong Great Wall Buffet, the price is great for the excellent quality food. The Staff is more than accommodating, even offering to make new food for us when we went late at night. This is a much better choice, in our opinion to some of the other Chinese Buffet style restaurants here in Brantford. We have not had a bad time going here yet, and we recommend this place highly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Quick-RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You Get what You Pay For”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I've been here twice now and both times have been disappointed with the selection and the quality of the food. The price is very cheap, but then again you don't get many options. Very clean restaurant though and friendly staff, would be good for groups with varried tastes or large families, but don't expect much.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank McKennaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Resturant, great food and service.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Best Resturant, great food and service. We love this Resturant. Great selection of food very fresh and the prices you can't beat 7.99 lunch dinner 8.99 and no MSG and the service is amazing

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tannercarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in brantford”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great service, food and very clean, prices are very good. Family of 4 so going out can be very expensive So we are very lucky to have had this restaurant open here in brantford.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sable08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yong Great Wall Buffet also viewed

Brantford, Ontario
Brantford, Ontario
 

Been to Yong Great Wall Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing