We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly”
Review of Jakes Boathouse

Jakes Boathouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Jakes Boathouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 724 Restaurants in Brampton
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rutherford & Steeles
Description: A Brampton landmark since 1979. Famous for good food (Fall-Off-The-Bone Ribs, Hand crafted burgers, fresh fish, great wings and other appetizers), and neighbourhood style service. Mature bar crowd on weekends enjoys the best live music in the GTA.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Jake's Boathouse is a cut above most eateries in the area.
Food is outstanding and the service is always great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eric o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
53oldskool, Owner at Jakes Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thanks for your nice review of our place. Glad to know there are still lots of folks out their who dig live music......and people watching!
Cheers!
Mike Cuttle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Jakes Boathouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 126 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

The staff are great, the food is great and I love the live bands. Even if you don't dance, it's quite entertaining to watch the people up dancing and trying to pick up others.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
53oldskool, Owner at Jakes Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thanks for your nice review of our place. Glad to know there are still lots of folks out their who dig live music......and people watching!
Cheers!
Mike Cuttle
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Been here many times for drinks and dancing. The bands are usually good and the people watching is awesome. Fun place for a night I dancing.

This time we decided to go early and have dinner so as to get a good table. Apparently you are supposed to call ahead for a reservation so they stuck us up in the corner.

My husband ordered the Atlantic Salmon and was thoroughly disappointed. It was minuscule and dry, dry, dry. Like it was cooked the day before. His roasted veggies looked and felt like they were cooked a week before.

Limited vegetarian options so I went with the Fish & Chips. They were ok. Small portion of fish again. I guess they want you to order the 2 piece but I'm not a big eater.
Our friends ordered spinach and artichoke dip appy and a burger. They said it was ok. I think they were being polite.
The server was not helpful in moving is to a better table after dinner despite them having come available. He just kept saying they were "taken". Eventually I went and asked the doorman/host and he said "sure, no problem "

The server copped an attitude at that point and it was hard to get a drink once we moved.

The band Scully & The Crossbones was one of the worst we've seen there. They were talented enough but they're choice of songs was not conducive to dancing and when we asked if they knew how to play a certain song they said "ya but we're not going to because we're sick of it". Nice.

We'll go back for a better ban and we'll be sure and eat first.

Thank Thrifty44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The band is great!!!!! Food is ok the dance floor is way to small for all the poeple that like to dance. Service was bad you waited a long time to get a drink we started to order 2 at a time

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marbles407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great food and friendly waitstaff. I recomend nicolette as a waitress Monday is rib night well worth the trip. the Tuesday mussel madness night is also worth the trip. Blackened salmon is great and I recomend the bacon wraped scallops and peppercorn stake soup for starters

Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
53oldskool, Owner at Jakes Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thanks so much for your positive review of Jake's.
It means a great deal to independent establishments like ours when people like you take the time to say nice things about your Jake's experience.

You'll notice from our reviews that we aren't perfect and that from time to time we get a failing grade. But TripAdvisor provide us a great opportunity to reach out to our guests as well as show our staff that every customer is precious.
Thanks again. Come back soon!

Mike Cuttle
Proprietor, Jake's Boathouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jakes Boathouse also viewed

 

Been to Jakes Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing