We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone!”

Heritage Fish & Chips
Ranked #3 of 717 Restaurants in Brampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Brampton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Something for everyone!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a great place to get an order of halibut and chips. The fish is delicious, not too heavily battered and fried to perfection. The fries are okay, not spectacular..but they do offer other options such as a fresh garden salad. We like this place because the menu is a little more extensive than your typical fish and chip restaurant. My husband always has the salmon dinner and enjoys it very much. Weekends are usually pretty busy, but it's worth the wait.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    137
    23
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mouth watering and almost original English Fish N Chips place”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Was introduced to this place by a friend of mine who is of a British decent. I did not believe him initially but after having the haddocks, Hlibut's and Cod it's the best place. Another best kept seceret about the place is that you could get Mash potatoes also and it's fresh mashed potatoes. We go to the Brampton location at least once a month.

Helpful?
1 Thank Specialeventmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!!!!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I am from the states, and I truly believe I would travel to Brampton, for this food. ahhhhh!!! The fish and shrimp were so fresh and mouth watering. The chips had just the right amount of salt. Just thinking of this has my mouth watering!!!! Highly recommended!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anika718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Consistently high quality seafood”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My family has visited two of the three locations in Brampton: the take-out at 2462 Queen St E, and the sit-down restaurant at 265 Queen St E. But offer a fine array of fried and grilled seafood, and a rich variety of sides. The fish & chips is the mainstay of the business, and clearly the favorite of the clientele. My only complaint is the portion size--especially of the fried clam strips. But this is a disappointment born the simple wish for more of a good thing. We've tried three local competitors' fish & chips, and they don't come close to the flavor of Heritage.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KurtBruder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service and Value!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stopped in quite by chance and found it to be the loveliest spot we've found in a long time!
The menu is obviously seafood and it is extensive and reasonably priced.
I had the Seafood Platter with Ceasar Salad. It consisted of a piece of Halibut, Sole, Shrimp and Scallops, sll of which were cooked to perfection! My wife had Halibut and Fries, which was equally as delicious.
The decor is delightful, with maps of Scotland, Ireland, Tartan Displays, etc. I haven't seen a 'tea cosy' in many years, but pots of tea are covered by beautiful blue and white 'cozies'.
The service was absolutely superb and quick! The waitresses were all well groomed, personable and added an air of comfortability whilst eating.

Given the opportunity, I will return whenever I'm in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enercontrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing