We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish was not cooked properly” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henry's Fish & Chips

Henry's Fish & Chips
Ranked #14 of 704 Restaurants in Brampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $13
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Brampton
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fish was not cooked properly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was very much disappointed with the fish and chips. order I placed . The fish seems to be not cooked properly as it tastes raw and slimy. expalined to the waiter. She went to checked with the chef and their comments were that the fish is cooked. Even the batter colour was not that brown. We used to go often to this locationfor lunch. The waiter was very pleasent. Seems like the owner don't care about the satisfaction of the customers. This may be my last visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank krishanbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Fish in Brampton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is the best traditional fish and chip shop in Brampton. The service is always wonderful and the lunch special is a great value.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Malt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cobbler Lunch Special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I ordered this special only as I was told "Cobbler is a white fish similar to Bassa. When I peeled the batter back, the fish looked uncooked and raw in some places.
I showed one of the worker's who took it to the kitchen. He returned and said it was just how the Cobbler looked. I took one more look and don't care what anyone says, it was not cooked. When I told the waitress she just presented the bill and said it was a wet fish???? I hardly ate any fish, some fries and quarter of my drink, but no offer to comp. the meal. I paid and will never eat there again. I do NOT recommend this restaurant based on this experience and hope nobody is exposed to this.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Tasty!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I love the halibut and chips here!! The fish is very good, the fries are great. Gravy is tasty. The battered mushrooms are made with fresh mushrooms and are delicious!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“THE BEST IN BRAMPTON BY FAR!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Henry's Fish & Chips is made with fresh fish. It is by far the best fish & chip resturant in Brampton. I go there weekly to satisfy my cravings. They have all kinds of Fish and will give you a very light batter when requested (cutting a lot of calories). There Fries are home made. Just like getting from a chip truck. You must (if you love Fish & Chips) give Henry's a try. You will be very pleased that you did.

Helpful?
3 Thank sharon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry's Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Henry's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing