We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Meal”
Review of La Capannina

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Capannina
Ranked #15 of 717 Restaurants in Brampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Brampton
Perth, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
487 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I had not been to this restaurant in nearly 15 years as I had moved away from the area. I was so looking forward to a return visit and I was not disappointed. Terrific service and great food. Oyster Rockerfellas were still divine. I wish I could return more often. Thankyou very much.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerthDarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    30
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great traditional Italian cuisine”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

We went to this restaurant many many years ago and found the food just average. We decided to give it another chance and were very much pleasantly surprised by the quality and taste of the food. Although the decorum has changed little, the food made this visit memorable. For those who haven't experienced this restaurant in a while, you definitely have to give it another try. The gnocchi are to die for. The fish was fresh and prepared perfectly. The favourite dish we had was the Lobster bisque. That was fantastic! I can't wait to go back again.

Helpful?
Thank Saraboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food served with 'old world' charm”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you are looking for a nice place to relax over a glass of wine or two while sampling some great Italian fare look no farther than La Capannina. You are always made to feel welcome and never rushed. The perfect spot to reconnect with friends or your significant other!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janda_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great time, Great service, very good meal”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

A business associate recommended this spot which is an awkward location next to a parking garage, set back quite a few meters from the street. Once inside, we took a step back into time with classic service, classic Italian dishes and excellent Chianti. While this restaurant is not fantastic, it is very good and worth a look.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wtftraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This restaurant doesn't look like much from the outside but its very cosy on the inside. The food is pretty good. Our waiter was very nice and the service was excellent. We used to go to this restaurant for many years but then it changed owners. We were a bit disappointed when we went back for the first time after it changed owners but we thought we would try it out again. . Our appetizers were very good. I had a mini antipasto and my husband had a spicy shrimp. The main course was good we had Arctic Char but not outstanding. We will have to come back and try something else. Dessert was excellent. We had tiramisu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Capannina also viewed

 

Been to La Capannina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing