We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has Potential.”
Review of Trio Ristorante - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Trio Ristorante
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: new casual fine dining restaurant downtown Brampton
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Has Potential.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We decided to give Trio a try as it looks attractive from the street and enjoys a relatively high number of favourable ratings here. Its interior is typically contemporary with dark finishes and features an elevated bar area. A compact kitchen occupies the front of the facility which means you have to walk a third of the way into the restaurant in hope of being welcomed.

We were greeted and seated by the friendly server and informed of the specials. A over-filled bread basket and plate of oil and Balsamic promptly appeared. Our appetizers were a shared order of Mussels Marinara ($10) and a Antipasto platter ($13) along with a tasty Ontario Riesling ($40). The skimpy antipasto platter was disappointing as it gave little evidence of any seasoning, care in assembly or effort to please. It was mostly a demonstration of how so little food can be given without being insulting. Considering that a few hours earlier Ontario's bountiful harvest was available just outside their front door, why use cheap and dull canned ingredients? The mussels were refused as they arrived unopened with an unpleasant odour.

Our entrées consisted of the Rigatoni Ragu ($16) and the special Smoked Chicken with Spinach and Pasta ($17). The portions were generous but judged very ordinary in taste. Where's the promised expertise?

Service was competent and relaxed throughout the meal.

On this Saturday evening with only three tables occupied the person who appeared to be the owner/manager could have paid attention to the quality of food leaving his kitchen instead of chatting with a couple with his back to the rest of his customers for well over an hour. All things considered, the lack of attention to detail appears to be a significant challenge to their success.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ephjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    2
    0
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erin, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Awful Awful Awful”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place has horrible service coupled with horrible food. The only redeeming quality of this restaurant is the decor. That was done by the previous owners so there is nothing about this place that I would recommend.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SirC_LadyDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrioRistorante, Manager at Trio Ristorante, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear SirC_LadyDD,

Our apologies in your dining experience at Trio Ristorante. If you would be so kind and of course at your availability, could you send us a note with further details in your experience? We welcome constructive criticism, without it we fail to improve in our short comings.

Thank you,
Trio Ristorante Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service. Not seen better in Brampton”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

As I go out for dinner a lot and I really like good wine, food and service, the price is somewhat irrelivant to me. Trio in Brampton has become my default restaurant because I live in the area and every time I go it is good or better. I am really picky and not easy to please. I can also take business clients there without being worried about whatever.

willem@organs.ca

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank willem v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Always dependable and personable”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is an update on a previous review; obviously if you go back to a place it should be at least as good as before. Briefly, it was.
Great appetizer and veal entree, matched with a reasonably priced wine made for an enjoyable experience. Why is this place not packed to capacity for lunch? Having tried the competition within walking distance it is my estimation that value, quality and service make it the first choice one should consider. If there is any problem, the owner, Peter, assured me, he would personally make it right. The customer is king. Where else can you get this?
Do your self a favour and give this a try; you will be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianBaconToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great food”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Food is inovative and a great slection. Presentation is superb. Staff make you feel right at home. They have an extensive wine selection. The location in Downtown Brampton is perfect if you want to have dinner and then go to the Rose Theatre and then perhaps after have a night cap - coffee or drink before heading home. Trios is a great addition to the downtown area.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trio Ristorante also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing