We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Indian fare, but lacking in customer service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tandoori Flame

Tandoori Flame
Ranked #19 of 709 Restaurants in Brampton
Price range: $13 - $21
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Indian fare, but lacking in customer service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

For some time now, my wife has been badgering me to go to Tandoori Flame for Indian food. She had been to Tandoori Flame before and loved the food. It is also a favorite of her boss. Finally, over the Holidays, the whole family went for a belated birthday celebration for our son and daughter-in-law, who were visiting from New Brunswick.
We went on a Friday night and as expected, the place was rammed. We were told that there would be a ten minute wait to be seated and directed to the bar area. Some forty minutes later my wife inquired when we might expect to get a table. We were finally seated after waiting for forty-five minutes.
Tandoori Flame is like an Indian version of The Mandarin, only without the friendly welcome and attentive service from the staff. As advertised, the food was delicious, with an expansive variety of dishes. There were dancers and a drummer wandering the restaurant, in traditional Indian garb, which added a touch of authenticity to the ambiance.
Unfortunately, the service was indifferent, bordering on rude, when it came to the servers. In addition to the long wait for a table, we tried repeatedly to get the attention of our waiter to get the bill. We finally went to the front to leave, which got the attention of our server and prompted him to get our bill. This is a shame, because it tainted the rest of the experience, which was quite good.
.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GregorioToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    136
    70
    20
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Over rated,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Yes they got lots if selection, but just like a typical buffet it is quantity that u pay for not quality. Nothing authentic about the dishes, mediocre food. We saw a hair in the salad tray and told he guy to change and clean up, instead of apologizing, he start to critize us as to why we did not tell him earlier. We told him it is not our job and they should be stirring the food and checking to make sure everything is okay. Also we saw one guy just flipping the dirty table cloth instead of replacing it with a new one in order to sep up a table. The curry stains were even visible from the other side of the table cloth.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Omer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Indian Buffet in North America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Delicious food, great ambiance, professional service and a nice bar. Best Indian buffet. There new Mississauga location in Heartland is gorgeous.......I highly recommend it. Will go there again and again.

I have tried several Indian buffets in US (West coast, East coast, Texas, Chicago etc.) and Canada (Ottawa, Montreal, Calgary, Toronto and around GTA). I found Tandoori Flame to be best overall.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sidd_Pan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shraeyg g, Guest Relations Manager at Tandoori Flame, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest

It is great to hear that you had an amazing time at our restaurant and enjoyed the ambiance and the food especially due to the friendliness of our staff and the good service provided by them.

We will be looking forward to serve you again, soon.

Warm Greetings,

Shraey Gulati
Tandoori Flame Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice place to go for everyone.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to go for everyone. Feels like in some good restaurant in India: Indian aromas and whole atmosphere is there. Good variety of dishes for vegetarians and nonvegeterians.
I love there souses. Inside the restaurant makes great impression of national style and spirit. It's good to come there with family, as well as with friends or colleagues. Nobody will bother you. Staff is well trained, very helpful. Buffet is available but individual dishes could be freshly prepared in accordance with some preferred specifications also. Very good experience. We go there time from time with family and friends. Now Tandoori Flame is opened in Mississauga too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salacia9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shraeyg g, Guest Relations Manager at Tandoori Flame, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
It is wonderful to read you loved the atmosphere created in our new Mississauga location and also enjoyed the variety of dishes. It's a pleasure to serve you and your family time and again and we look forward to serving your beloved family many more times to come.

Kind Regards,

Shraey Gulati
Tandoori Flame Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A delicacy to remember”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had a family celebration and we decided to do that on Indian food in a royal style. Based on friends' recommendation, we chose Tandoori Flame restaurant. The ambiance was very nice and the staff were wonderful. But the one that floored us was the variety offered in that restaurant as part of the buffet. The starters, main course and the dessert had more than 50 options. You cant try all the options as humanely it is not possible but any option that we tried was so tasty that we felt we really missed the ones that we didn't try. The cost was very reasonable compared to what they offer. The experience was so rewarding that we as a family took an oath to visit that restaurant with our close friends next time when decide to dine out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chakjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shraeyg g, Guest Relations Manager at Tandoori Flame, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
It's an honour to read your feedback and we are really happy that our commitment to unique experience and exceptional service has made your visit a happy one.
Our goal is to provide a unique and unmatched experience with a large variety so each guest can enjoy what they prefer and not be limited to a particular dish.

We will be looking forward to serving your family many more times to come along with your close friends.

Warm regards,

Shraey Gulati
Tandoori Flame Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoori Flame also viewed

Brampton, Ontario
Brampton, Ontario
 

Been to Tandoori Flame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing