We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing holiday in the lap of nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jalpaiguri
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday in the lap of nature”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is surely a retreat, located on top of a hillock away from the dusty roads and main town of Chalsa. The rooms though clean , do need a little upgrading considering the room rate. Bathrooms are big and clean . The rooms are in cottages dotting the sprawling acreage. The grounds could do with a little more maintenance or watering. Manager was really nice to show us around. The organic gardens provide for the vegetables that are cooked in the restaurant kitchen. Food was always good and we have no complaints with the service apart from the fact that the front office staff need to be a little bit more professional, every little thing was decided by the management, the reception staff have no authority to do anything on their own. There is a spa which looked inviting though we didn't use it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelCrazy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Dooars, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciated your kind review and are very glad that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable time at our resort. Thank you so much for having shared your feedback with us and the TripAdvisor community.

Our employees always aim to offer the best possible service to our guests, and our highest goal is to always satisfy our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable experience at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars.

Kind regards,

Moloy Sarkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    79
    36
    10
    5
See reviews for
75
40
3
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a sprawling property surrounded by greenery. And butterflies :) Accommodation is in single-storeyed buildings. Our (deluxe) room was spacious, had a huge bed, and an attached bath. The room opens to a verandah which overlooks the lawns. The restaurant, which was a little walk away, offered good food. Overall, the ambience is quiet and tranquil. Almost unassuming. Even the lamps that hang from the trees blend into the branches.The service is excellent - polite and prompt. Everyone seems determined to ensure you have a good time. Even the gardeners will interrupt their watering of the lawns to engage in a conversation with you.

Perfect getaway from the madding crowd.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0rangeClouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Dooars, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciated your kind review and are very glad that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable time at our resort.

Thank you so much for having shared your feedback with us and the Tripadvisor community.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable experience at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars.

Kind regards,

Moloy Sarkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siliguri, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Location of Resort is good natural beauty at it best.Resort has facility like swimming pool,gym, indoor games,cycling etc. Poll is water is really chilling cold so donot try it just a personal recommendation. Cottage are good are comfortable

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agam007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Dooars, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciated your kind review and are very glad that you have enjoyed the natrual beauty of our resort.

Thank you so much for having shared your feedback with us and the Tripadvisor community.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable experience at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars.

Kind regards,

Moloy Sarkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

we stay in resort for two days. Resort is good 4 to 5 star category having all the modern ammenties like swimming pool,gym, indoor games,library to read good collection of books,spa,cycling and many more. Dooars is place from where you can go for jungle safari but in rainy season safari is closed. The restaurant serves delicious food and in very beautiful setting.
rooms are excellent with very large space. Outside of the rooms you will find different types of fruits trees and lush green resort in good wide area.Since resort is widely spread there is no room service is available.

Room Tip: All rooms are well decorated and on plain ground only
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOHINDER K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Dooars, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit to Sinclairs Retreat Dooars. It is through valuable feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to improve our products and services. We appreciate it a great deal.

We are glad that you found our property beautiful. We truly strive to keep the standards of our hotel to the highest level. Noticing that you enjoyed the activities, I want to mention that if you were to return we do have many avenues for entertainment such as night cricket, trekking, white water rafting, bird watching and we organise picnics and trips to tea gardens too.

If you decide to visit us again it would be our pleasure to host you.

Warm Regards.

Moloy Sarkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Really an awesome place to visit. The ambiance is so nice & we have really enjoyed a lot. The service, hospitality,facilities all were great. Overall, Its a fabulous experience in Sinclairs Resort, Dooars. We would love to go again. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_banerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Dooars, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for selecting Sinclairs Retreat Dooars as your hotel of choice when you were here. We remain committed to being the hotel of choice for all our guests and strive to exceed their expectations whenever we can.

Our associates are certainly a blessing to the organization and take pride in providing personalized, friendly service to our guests. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our resort.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for your future visits. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again to Sinclairs Retreat Dooars with our signature grace, warmth and care.

Kind regards,

Moloy Sarkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
183 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

You pass through undulated valleys with multiple shades of green, tea gardens, paddy fields and small villages during about three hours' drive from the Bagdogra airport before reaching Chalsa Hill Top Resort. It is a quiet place.There are many cottages, watch tower, pool and lots of natural green on the hill top. All around you see layers of hills with a variety of foliage... a soft and serene landscape so unique to Dooars. Early morning mist and lovely sunrise bring you closer to the nature. Evening sun set mesmerizes you with the fresh and eternal colors galore in the sky. Outings in nearby areas are enjoyable. Services in terms of food and housekeeping match the the expectations from the 'Sinclairs' tag. it is a good venue for corporate conferences and business meetings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsisBandyopadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Dooars, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciated your kind review and are very glad that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable time at our resort.

Thank you so much for having shared your feedback with us and the Tripadvisor community.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable experience at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars.

Kind regards,

Moloy Sarkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao Pessoa, PB
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Fabulous experience in this hotel. The service,food or ambiance all were great. We would love to go again. The warmth and hospitality of the staff made our experience more memorable in India. I loved it

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agramf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Dooars, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you had a fabulous experience at the hotel.

We appreciate your positive feedback and hope to have the chance to welcome you again to our beautiful resort soon.

Best Regards,

Moloy Sarkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jalpaiguri
3.4 mi away
The Journey's
The Journey's
#2 of 4 in Jalpaiguri
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
24.1 mi away
Royal Sarovar Portico
Royal Sarovar Portico
#1 of 27 in Siliguri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mount Milestone Hotel and Banquets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Aranya Jungle Resort
Aranya Jungle Resort
#1 of 21 in Lataguri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Reserve Gorumara
The Reserve Gorumara
#1 of 4 in Gorumara National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
12.1 mi away
Lake View Resort
Lake View Resort
#11 of 21 in Lataguri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa

Property: Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa
Address: Chalsa Hill Top, Jalpaiguri 735206, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Jalpaiguri District > Jalpaiguri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jalpaiguri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sinclairs Retreat Dooars located at Chalsa Hill Top in the Dooars region of West Bengal is spread over 20 acres of verdant green. Built in complete harmony with nature, the resort is ideal for those seeking rest, rejuvenation and adventure. The property has 66 rooms and three suites. These rooms and suites are in cottage style accommodation, with each cottage cluster having six rooms. The USP of our property is to 'come and live with nature'. The resort has a spa with steam and sauna, an olympic size swimming pool and a children's wading pool. It has its own organic farm with medicinal shrubs, flavouring herbs, exotic vegetables and aromatic plants. An air-conditioned multi-cuisine restaurant The Banyan Tree allows you to view the green while enjoying your meals. The Tusker Bar sets the ambiance for a cool evening where guests can enjoy drinks. The Bamboo Grove cafe is an epicurean delight and serves fresh and hot snacks. Recreational facilities croquet, cycling, table tennis, badminton, night cricket/football and billiards. A children's park and a library with a large number of books is available. The very essence of Dooars is its rich wildlife and exquisite flora and fauna which can be experienced in the reserve forests located nearby. The region is also famous for its lush tea gardens and is ideal for trekking, white water rafting and bird watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa Jalpaiguri, India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing