We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jungle trek- A tale of wilds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaldapara Tourist Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jalpaiguri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jaldapara Tourist Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Jungle trek- A tale of wilds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We reached here directly from Gorumara after spending there a few days. Regarding Jaldapara Tourist lodge, I would appreciate the fact that, despite being a govt owned facility it is being managed in extremely professional way. All the rooms are clean, big in size and comes with every amenity you need, hence offers a good value for money. Crew members are always eager for your needs and helps you a lot regarding the tours. You may try the jeep safari and elephant ride at the morning which gives you best chances to encounter the wild animals here. Rooms can be booked online beforehand so you may find it convenient if you are coming from other states/ country. Again the early morning elephant ride maximizes your chances to experience the wild animals and the beauty of this forest needs a special mention. The nearest railway station is Hasimara which is located just 10 kilometers away but the road is horrible when I got there. But apart from this initial hiccups, you are ready to experience your share of jungle trek. Above all, a good stay at affordable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fireball007in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    47
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
576 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 704 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We would have preferred to stay inside the sanctuary at the Hollong Forest Bungalow, right next to the departure area for the elephant safaris, but it has only seven rooms and was fully booked. 

Our “AC Wooden Cottage” at the Tourist Lodge was sufficient for our short stay, though the food left much to be desired. The food was plentiful, but the quality was poor. We also found that although there were Aquafina or Kinley water bottles on each table, they were not sealed and were probably just refilled from the tap (or perhaps with filtered water)  The cottages are not really cottages, but rooms along an external corridor on ground level. One walks up 3-4 steps to enter the "cottage" Our cottage was basic with minimal furnishings - a hard queen bed, a table, two chairs, a desk and beside tables; it was adequate for a stay of a few days. We also had a small dressing area and a very large attached bathroom with shower. The AC worked and we did have hot water.

Bookings for both the Tourist Lodge and the Forest Bungalow include all meals and morning and afternoon tea, Hollong must be booked several months in advance; guests at both accommodations are given preference over walk-ins in securing elephant safaris, but Hollong’s guests have first preference. 

We did see rhinoceroses at close range on both of our morning elephant safaris and from a watchtower on our afternoon jeep safari.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank hfot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Pros:

Rooms are good, reasonably well maintained.
Service is good even during Last week of December 2012
All food (B/F, Lunch, Dinner) included in rates. Quality of food is good. Food is mostly Bengali style
Elephant ride booking is arranged from Tourist Lodge, Jeep Safari is booked from adjacent office.
The children's park inside the premises is good for young kids.

Cons:

1] Need to struggle to get transport for sight-seeing/other trips during peak season. The cars/vans overcharge and the booking persons in Tourist lodge retain big commission. Example: We paid 3200 for one way trip from Jaldapara Tourist Lodge to Kurseong (which was very high for 160 km journey) to the manager of the Tourist lodge. The Driver claimed, he was paid only Rs. 2600 by the manager. Once you are in the Tourist lodge without your own vehicle you are at the mercy of the manager for all transport and have a feeling of being trapped.

2] Only one thin blanket was provided, which was not enough during end December. No room heater in rooms.

3] Road from Hasimara to Jaldapara Tourist Lodge is broken. In some places it is almost non-existent. This 10 km journey is back breaking. Neither NHAI nor WB Govt cared to repair the same road during the last 2 years, which is part of a national highway.

Room Tip: Two types of rooms available. Wooden rooms(costlier and bigger(all A/C) and Concrete rooms(A/C and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Arindam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Jaldapara Tourist Lodge is a basic hotel but provides for a good stay amidst greenery and nature. The staff is helpful and friendly and gives you the information you need to make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rakhi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Me and my two friends visited Jaldapara Wild Life Sanctuary on 29th Sep to 1st Oct 2012. We went by train from Kolkata by KanchanKanya Exp and went till Hasimara. From there we took a Cab to the Hotel. The rooms are very spacious, neat and clean. We took AC Super Deluxe Wooden Room. It was a superb experience staying at the Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony, but try to stay in the 1st Floor with Wooden Flooring and Walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanumoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

After my horrendous experience at the Baharampur Tourist Lodge last year, I had vowed never to stay at WBTDC hotels ever again. But when traveling to places like Madarihat or Jaldapara, you really do not have much of a choice, do you?
However, I was pleasantly surprised by the Jaldapara Tourist Lodge. The rooms are clean (!) and spacious, all basic conveniences are in place, the A/C works perfectly and noiselessly, and the grounds are well maintained. The buffet breakfast and lunch is good and plentiful, and the kitchen staff quite helpful, though one or two of the front-desk staff could do with a little less grumpiness, and we could do with a little help with the luggage. There was also supposed to be a light-and-sound show in the evening on the forest and the wildlife - but somehow or the other, this was given a miss. But do not hold this too much against the hotel staff - they are after all, public sector employees!
Overall, the place gives the impression of a well-oiled machinery, with jeep safaris and elephant rides being arranged and scheduled for scores of tourists every day - acting at a much larger scale of organization and popularity than most tourist lodges in Bengal.
We arrived in Madarihat on our own rented car from Malbazar (which, incidentally, was our base for this entire trip to North Bengal), but it is easy to arrive from the nearest rail-head of Hasimara by taxi. And once there, what else? The forest beckons, and it is useful to find the arrangements done from the hotel itself.
Maybe my sights were set too low, knowing what can, and is, generally dished out by the WBTDC - but I must say, just this once, I was impressed!

Room Tip: The older wing of the hotel may look more romantic, but while staying here, it is best to stick to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jit-Roy-Chowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had booked 3 rooms for a night's stay in end-April. The booking experience was extremely good - very easily accomplished online. As we had several kids in the group, the well-maintained garden with its model animals was a great draw for them. The rooms were clean and met with what you could expect for the price and the location in the jungle. Food was fine, and none of us fell sick. The bookings for elephant and Jeep rides were also handled very professionally by the front desk - receipts issued for all rides, no hanky panky, and no rudeness at all. We got good help from the staff when we were hit with a sudden bout of rain which was also another plus point. Overall, for the price and location, Jaldapara Tourist Lodge worked for us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SNottIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jalpaiguri
0.0 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa
0.0 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.0 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 94 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aranya Jungle Resort
Aranya Jungle Resort
#1 of 21 in Lataguri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Reserve Gorumara
The Reserve Gorumara
#1 of 4 in Gorumara National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Breeze Hotel
Breeze Hotel
#25 of 97 in Siliguri
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaldapara Tourist Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaldapara Tourist Lodge

Property: Jaldapara Tourist Lodge
Address: National Highway 31 C | P.O. Madarihat, Jalpaiguri 735220, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Jalpaiguri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Jalpaiguri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Jaldapara Tourist Lodge Jalpaiguri, India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing