We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - basic, yet pleasant”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jalpaiguri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jaldapara Tourist Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had booked 3 rooms for a night's stay in end-April. The booking experience was extremely good - very easily accomplished online. As we had several kids in the group, the well-maintained garden with its model animals was a great draw for them. The rooms were clean and met with what you could expect for the price and the location in the jungle. Food was fine, and none of us fell sick. The bookings for elephant and Jeep rides were also handled very professionally by the front desk - receipts issued for all rides, no hanky panky, and no rudeness at all. We got good help from the staff when we were hit with a sudden bout of rain which was also another plus point. Overall, for the price and location, Jaldapara Tourist Lodge worked for us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SNottIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 111 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

If you prefer to be in a close vicinity to nature, with comfortable beds and palatable dishes of foods & if you like to get all these very well in your budget, Jaldapara Tourist Lodge should be your first option. From the very first day (26 May 12), we felt quite at home. You just book a room here and you will see that you have handed over your each & every head-ache regarding your tour, to the Lodge Management Team. You have not booked an elephant safari or car safari for Sanctuary? Don't worry, the reception will arrange the best-possible trip for you. In our case, we planned our elephant safari during dinner on 26 May 12 and disclosed it to Mr. Manager. He confirmed us the first safari at 5.30 am on 27 May 12. You have not hired any personal vehicle for Chilapata Forest, Phuntsholling or any other sites? The Management Team is here to resolve the issue in a very affordable rate. Arrangement for break fast, lunch, dinner is outstanding. Especially, if you are a Bengali, you have to say - 'Guru, phataphati !' to their arrangements. The dining space is very clean and tidy. You can enjoy homely meals while enjoying the green site - seeing through the wide window of the dining hall. Rooms are good enough for any tourist and room services are praiseworthy. Following are few details out of my experience which may be helpful for you:

HOW TO REACH - From Hasimara Station, Taxi service is available for Jaldapara Tourist Lodge; driver will ask Rs. 400/- to Rs. 500/- (burgainable). But from Hasimara Station towards the Lodge, almost 8 k.m road is badly broken and really troublesome for any vehicle. It will be better if you leave train at Birpara / Madarihat Station, from where the Lodge is 5 - 6 k.m and roads are comfortable.

THE LODGE - Jaldapara Tourist Lodge is situated just aside dense forest. The elephant corridors are spread around the lodge. So if you are lucky enough, you may watch elephants standing in and around the Lodge premises especially during the cold nights. There is a green lawn inside the campus of the Lodge, where replicas of the mammals/birds/snakes with their introductions are available, so that you & your family get familiar with what you have come to see. Rooms are clean and spacious. But when it comes to the second floor Non A/C rooms, you have to be a little cautious as you may find few bee-hives are hanging from the sun-shed of the balcony. At the dining room, you can enjoy homely - made dishes to your hearts content, while watching the total greens through the window of the dining room. Do not forget to visit the museum just adjacent to the Lodge.

I will finish the review with one request to the tourist.

During my stay, I witnessed some family wasting and ransacking with food items and their din and bustles were making the dining members extremely irritated.

It is my sincere request to all the travellers that wastage of food and making unnecessary noise doesnot reflect your good image. So please do not do that. First we should try to be negotiable with the trifles or little problems. If we have some genuine problem, the Lodge Management Team is here to serve us, we have only to cooperate them. Enjoy the beauty of the virgin nature with peace and silence, not with noise.

Thank you, Manager Sir and the other member of the Lodge Management Team.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RISHIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed at the wing which is subsidised by the WB government for Tourist. Though it was cheaper, it lacked basic facilities like hot water.

The excitement of a Forest Lodge and Wild Life Sanctuary may not make you realise the quality of the Lodge.

The Location is inside the Forest so you may see some wild animals around. (Either lucky or unlucky)

The trip was utterly disappointing as we could not see any wild animals during the Safari. The People at the Lodge will tell you lots of stories which may be just to lure you that the Sanctuary is best.

It's not worth visiting the Sanctuary as there is nothing else in the vicinity so the stay may get wasted.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank V1VEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Nice, peaceful and cosy place bordering the forests. Clean food served.
Was surprised to see a government lodge being run in a nice way!
Next best to Hollong Bungalow for a trip to Jaldapara

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank futureperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Our stay at Jaldapara Tourist Lodge was a pleasant surprise. We had booked an AC wooden cottage. We had travelled with our 4 year old daughter . Our room was spacious. The toilet was clean and spacious. The room rent included all meals, so at around Rs. 2500/- per day it was very reasonable. The food was simple and tasted like home cooked food. In the evening they arrange a light and sound show in the landscaped garden. Before the light and show program, we were shown a jungle movie shot in Jaldapara in the conference room, which was followed by light and sound show. It was interesting and at the same time informative because it gave an idea about different types of wild animals, birds, snakes found in the forest. We took an elephant safari from Hollong bungalow. The elephant ride was interesting and we saw 2 rhions, one male and another female. We also travelled to Chilapata wildlife sanctuary, saw a number of rhinos and bisons, along with huge number of peacock. We also visited Khairabari leopard rehabilitation center. The battery operated car ride was enjoyed by my daughter as she could see the leopards from close distance. Overall the stay in Jaldapara was good. The tourist lodge could have arranged for a bon fire while showing the sound and light show as it was very cold as we were in the lawn area watching the program. Overall it was an enjoyable trip and was value for money.

Room Tip: We had stayed in wooden cottage which was large and spacious and was also close to the main receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MountainloverKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

we v been 2 jaldapara t l on a package tour n october. the ambience of the lodge is o k on the front side, but on the rear,it's full of garbage.the service is poor and sloppy.our room's a c was not functioning right from the beginning and it was not attended.even after repeated calls . we were forced to change the room, which was very annoying .the rooms are not well furnished and too small for comfort. the food was lousy..rotten fish was served in the lunch. the menu was limited and listless. overall our stay at the lodge was anything but enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PANTHAJAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

One of the beautiful, well decorated and maintained property of WBTDC, A beautiful Garden with models of animals and light and sound show is really a treat. Staff are very cooperative. Rates reasonable. Rooms are spacious and nicely maintained. Elephant rides are available. A definite recommendation from my side.
The best lodge for jungle lovers is Hollong Lodge deep inside Jaldapara Sanctuary. This place has one advantage if you are travelling with kids this is a much better place to stay since your mobility at night is not affected since it is situated on the periphery of the Jungle.

Room Tip: Go for Wooden A/c Delux Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank swastik73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jalpaiguri hotels
32.6 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Dooars, Chalsa
31.3 mi away
The Journey's
The Journey's
#2 of 4 in Jalpaiguri
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Center Point
#16 of 41 in Jalpaiguri
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.4 mi away
The Tusker Den
The Tusker Den
#11 of 41 in Jalpaiguri
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Nya Sylee Director's Bungalow
#7 of 41 in Jalpaiguri
1 reviews
37.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip
Hotel Golden Tulip
#10 of 41 in Jalpaiguri
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaldapara Tourist Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaldapara Tourist Lodge

Address: National Highway 31 C | P.O. Madarihat, Jalpaiguri 735220, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Jalpaiguri District > Jalpaiguri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Jalpaiguri
Price Range: $39 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Jaldapara Tourist Lodge Jalpaiguri, India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing