We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value Sushi”

Aji Sai Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 193 Restaurants in Belleville
Price range: $13 - $21
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Value Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This all-you-can-eat sushi restaurant represents good value – especially if you go at lunch time. Though the lunch time menu selection seems to keep getting smaller over time. The sushi may not be the best you’ll ever have but it is competently prepared and tasty. Many of the various rolls are excellent. Generally, the squid tempura is well prepared with tender squid and a good dipping sauce. Service can be spotty. Your first order is often received as desired but subsequent orders are often shortened or forgotten. You need to be patient and follow up at times. Not really a sign of their culinary prowess, but do order a taste of the green tea and/or black sesame ice creams. Both are not standard fares in most oriental restaurants. At lunch, I find it hard to complain for the price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Disneydog182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    28
    13
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great sushi for a small town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Aji Sai has a very substantial variety of sushi, especially for a restaurant in a smaller sized city. The atmosphere and decor are very modern, clean and appealing. Sometimes it can take a little while to be served, but thats usually only when they are busy and the servers are ALWAYS friendly and polite. overall a very great value. a bit pricey, but no more so than any restaurant these days.

i would highly recommend Aji Sai. Lunch time is the most affordable and still a great selection.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Never Dissappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The sushi is ALWAYS fantastic. As it does get busy, sometimes it takes longer to have your order brought round but its worth the wait. Servers have improved in the last year so I am happy to say there really isn't a reason not to go.
As for people who get upset about missing parts of their order or being brought someone elses dish. Who cares. The prices are amazing compared to what you get. So if you want 5 star service with 2 star pricing, this ain't the place for you. The waiters are lighthearted and will fix anything that is mistaken. It's too delish to let a few mix ups take you elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sasha-Here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay away”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We use to come here all of the time. But now the serivice is so poor. they mix up our dishes, don't bring us what we order ( I write down my order on a napkin cause I was so use to them making mistakes), and when we finally get someones attention to bring us a meal or refill our drinks, it takes FOREVER. I will never go here again. I travel to Trenton to Thai Sushi instead. Too bad. I have a family of 5.

Helpful?
Thank Lori909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“take out sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have eaten here many times, food is always very good. Spider maki, dragon roll are my favourites and the tempura is always delicious. Staff are very friendly, despite some having very little English.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gypsyqueenKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aji Sai Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Belleville, Ontario
Belleville, Ontario
 

Been to Aji Sai Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing