We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service and delicious food!”
Review of Earl & Angelo's

Earl & Angelo's
Ranked #27 of 193 Restaurants in Belleville
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Canadian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Service and delicious food!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Went out for a celebration dinner on a busy Saturday night. Food was great, had the special filet mignon and panko crusted halibut, with rosemary mashed potatoes. Martinis are also yummy. Service was also very good. All in all a wonderful experience for the first visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sulu68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    40
    20
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“First time and it was very good ...but.....”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We went to Earl and Angelo's for the first time last evening for my husband's birthday. The restaurant is very narrow and when you first walk in you sort of wonder where you are to stand. There is a stairway in one direction and a table quite close to the entrance. But soon a hostess arrived and seated us on the lower level at a table for 2. That is the disappointing part. It is very close to the next tables and difficult to have a conversation or not overhear the next table's conversation. You sort of whisper or refrain from having too much dialogue. It might not be comfortable if you went with another couple to be able to really sit back,relax and talk without feeling others where listening or being annoyed. The food however was excellent and the waiter, Kevin, was great. He was very friendly and knew his stuff.
Would we go back again?? Well, if it was just the 2 of us probably but unfortunately we would not take guests unless we were to find out there is more room between tables on the upper level and we could request a table there.
One other suggestion (and I don't know if it could be enforced) would be to post on the menus asking patrons to refrain from using cell phones. Last night at the table behind us 2 poeple were having cell phone conversations at the same time and it showed poor etiquette given the size of the restaurant and close proximity to other patrons. I know this is not the restaurant's fault, just an observation.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LHandJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Ontario
Level Contributor
189 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“A huge disappointment”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I was given a gift certificate to this establishment as a Christmas gift. On December 23rd, we decided to drop in (myself, my husband and teen son) to see if they had an available table.

It was obvious on arrival that perhaps we picked a bad day. The upper level was jam packed with what appeared to be a corporate Christmas event. The noise was unbelievable.

We were asked if we had a reservation. We indicated that we did not, and if they did not have any tables available, it was totally okay and we would return again another day. They said they would "see what they could do". Quite honestly, I wish they hadn't. After leaving us standing there (and standing there, and standing there.....) and several trips back to tell us how much of an effort it was to see if they could "squeeze us in" (and we kept repeating..."its okay, we can come back another time!"), they finally informed us that they had a small table open "but only only 7 p.m.....then we would have to leave as that table had a RESERVATION" (heavy emphasis on the word reservation.....yes people, I get it.....you don't like it when people show up without one). Considering it was only 5:00 p.m. and we had already been standing there for 15 minutes, we decided to take the table and assured them that unless their chef was slow in preparing our meal, we would be out of their way by 7. Feeling like complete inconveniences,we were finally seated. Sadly, it didn't get better from here.

Our waiter became stand-offish as soon as we declined to start the meal with an alcoholic beverage (I don't drink at all, and hubby very rarely). He gave us the distinct impression that he resented being assigned to our table when there were plenty other (loud and boisterous) alcohol-drinking (and bill-increasing) patrons in the restaurant.

Our meal finally arrived and we were underwhelmed at best. While the food tasted fine and was nicely presented, the quantities were much smaller than you would find at Kelseys or other similar establishments. The husband's steak was done exactly as requested and he enjoyed it very much, but the sides were inadequate to fill him (I ended up sharing mine). Both my teen son and I ordered the same chicken dish (both with garlic butter) but one came with some sort of barbecue sauce instead. We said nothing......after all, we were on a time crunch here, this table was RESERVED for 7 p.m.....to send back a meal means we'd never be out the door in time. Again, it tasted good but was, ultimately, not what I ordered.

We declined dessert. The main course didn't impress us that much, so we didn't figure their desserts would do any better.

For one steak meal and two chicken breast dinners, plus tax and four glasses of pop (two small glasses for the husband and two for the son.....and yes, were were charged full price for each refill), our bill came to $92.00 with tax (staggering, really, when an order was incorrect, there was no alcohol purchased, we were made to feel unwelcome, we could hardly carry on a conversation with all the hooting and hollering from the party above us, and were informed of strict time constraints before we even sat down). We gave the server our $100 gift certificate and an additional $10 to cover the tip (which his attitude did not justify). He prompty argued that the additional $8 from the remainder of the gift certificate could not be considered a tip, as it was restaurant policy to not give the servers any unused portions of gift certificates. Well, too bad sir. To think we were out ANY money for this meal was a laugh in itself. We suggested he talk to the owners about their policy, left the payment on the table, and left.

I could happily give this restaurant a rating of one, simply for the "experience". The husband says a two since the food was palatable. So its a stretch. This is one local family who will happily not return.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gina-Gina-Bo-Bina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Pricey but worth going once in awhile. The food is always cooked to perfection and very tasty. The space is small however, and very noisy when full. So if your looking for a quiet evening this would probably not fit the bill.

Helpful?
1 Thank craftygroomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“over rated. pricy - montana's is much better choice!”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

this was our 2nd visit to this location. we were celebrating an event and figure we will go somewhere high end. we were all terribly disappointed.
steak was over cooked. muscles were sandy tasting on my plate
another member got cold rack of lamb which must have been frozen prior to cooking.
nothing was relly memorable but the tab!
monana has a steak that kills this joint, but of course its not fine dinning experience (worth the visit )

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank e l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earl & Angelo's also viewed

 

Been to Earl & Angelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing