We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of France in Belleville”

L'Auberge de France
Ranked #12 of 194 Restaurants in Belleville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A beautiful French Bistro located in downtown Belleville. Serving up deliciously crafted, French inspired lunches, dinners, and pastries. The Bistro also offers a selection of imported European gourmet culinary products and a beautifully displayed Cheese Shop. Just South of the 401, and just North of picturesque Prince Edward County.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A bit of France in Belleville”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Tried L'Auberge de France for Saturday brunch, excellent & friendly service, food was very good.
Only complaint was the price of the local draught beer...Good take-out as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank torrus57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    27
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Overall a very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I wasn't sure what to think when friends told us they were taking us to a French restaurant in downtown Belleville, but after returning from two weeks in France I didn't have high hopes. However, it was all a very pleasant experience. The owner, who has an impressive resume of working in restaurants in Toronto, was very attentive and accommodating (we had a vegetarian in our group of 8). The place has the right number of tables in it (so that you aren't bumped up against the table beside you) and very authentic decor. The food is a mix of traditional French (escargot) and Canadian (fresh perch).
You can see the food being prepared in the kitchen. Granted, it is a bit expensive but by no means outrageous for food and atmosphere like this. If you are going to get food that is freshly made with these kinds of recipes, it will cost you more than a hamburger and fries will. Despite a mix of tastes and appetites, everyone in our group had an enjoyable meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gmcnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Incredibly authentic in downtown Belleville!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

It sounds corny, but I always feel like I've had a brief stay in France after lunch here; food is lovely, the coffee is good, the service always attentive.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinneylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of Belleville's Best”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Excellent food - lunch and dinner. Service and food makes you want to go back again and again

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Over priced and very disappointing food.”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I ordered the ribs hoping they would be better than the very disappointing Duck Confit I'd had the last time I was there. The ribs were a bit tough, the sliced potatoes undercooked and not a sign of vegetables. The whole thing was covered with an overpowering smokey sauce. Diner for two with a half litre of wine, desert and liquer was $150.00. I won't be back a third time.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank letmesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Auberge de France also viewed

 

Been to L'Auberge de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing