We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced and very disappointing food.”

L'Auberge de France
Ranked #12 of 193 Restaurants in Belleville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A beautiful French Bistro located in downtown Belleville. Serving up deliciously crafted, French inspired lunches, dinners, and pastries. The Bistro also offers a selection of imported European gourmet culinary products and a beautifully displayed Cheese Shop. Just South of the 401, and just North of picturesque Prince Edward County.
Belleville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Over priced and very disappointing food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

I ordered the ribs hoping they would be better than the very disappointing Duck Confit I'd had the last time I was there. The ribs were a bit tough, the sliced potatoes undercooked and not a sign of vegetables. The whole thing was covered with an overpowering smokey sauce. Diner for two with a half litre of wine, desert and liquer was $150.00. I won't be back a third time.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank letmesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    26
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunches, Dinners, and So Much More!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

L'Auberge de France is much more than a bistro--though it is that. Chef Jean-Marc Salvagno has, over the past few years, created a space like no other in Belleville: a restaurant, a gourmet shop and bakery, and a cooking school.

There is a steady stream of customers in and out of the shop on Saturday mornings as people pick up fresh-baked buttery croissants (available only on Saturdays), but each and every day people line up to buy breads baked with locally-grown organic flours, artisanal cheeses, and truly French charcuterie.

The $10 lunch special offers a sandwich or quiche plus soup or salad (try the roast beef and brie on baguette--you won't be sorry!)

And the coffee's good too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lakookoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Edward County, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paris in the middle of Belleville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Belleville isn't exactly the cultural centre of anywhere, but this restaurant has got the charm of the Latin Quarter down to a science. The layout is very efficient; lunches and cafe patrons enjoy their meals in the front surrounded by great French products and fresh delicacies, while exceptional suppers are prepared in the more intimate seating area in the back. The desserts and the sandwiches are divine; this place is excellent and is one of only two places downtown Belleville I will eat!

Helpful?
Thank BoyLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Buttery Croissants”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We picked up a croissant and a pound cake in the morning to check this place out. The croissant was like a stick of crunchy butter! In a good way! No need for extra butter on their croissants ... mmmmm.

We also dropped by for dinner, which was also good though the flavours were quite strong. Profiteroles for dessert were filled with ice cream and covered in chocolate sauce ... very yummy, but kind of like a McDonalds sundae.

It's a bit pricey, but I was not disappointed with the food.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wilted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I went here for lunch one time. It is kind of serve yourself. We both got sandwiches and the girl warmed them up for us. They were both very good. It is very small, not sure I would go for dinner.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2ndhnymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Auberge de France also viewed

 
Belleville, Ontario
Belleville, Ontario
 

Been to L'Auberge de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing