We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Empire of Belleville”
Review of The Empire Theatre

The Empire Theatre
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Belleville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Belleville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Empire of Belleville”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Where else in the whole of Canada can you find world-class entertainment in a pretty little city the size of Belleville?

The glorious and stunningly revitalized Empire Theatre (used as a sporting goods store after the local mall took over the movie business in the 60's) is located in the heart of downtown and next to the lovely waterfront walking/biking trail. It presents theatre-goers with sensational acoustics for the enjoyment of a variety of first-class acts and contemporary performances, as well as weekly movie nights. Some live performances occur outside in the great converted parking lot next door, with its own 'happening' restaurant sitting adjacent. It's also the home of the fabulous All You Need Is Love, a world-renowned Beatles cover band, for whom the owner of the Empire sings and plays lead guitar. Festivals of all sorts - including Beatlemania - take place during the summer months. This theatre provides a great line-up of A-listers performing throughout the year - it's the 'happening' place in Belleville!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    34
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Empire theatre”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Empire theatre has good live acts both inside and outside events at empire square . Also has films as well as alternative movies , less advertised often foreign movies come to this theatre. It is located downtown where parking available and some good restaurants are available can recommend .

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Moira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great theatre in our small city”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We live five blocks from this theatre, and over the years have attended concerts by Richard Marx, Liona Boyd, Alice Cooper, Steve Miller Band, Stuart McLean and many others. The owner of the theatre brings in the most amazing slate of singers and entertainers. We are so fortunate to have this venue in our city!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank crossesfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good variety of entertainment”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have been to several varied concerts or theatre entertainment at the theatre. It is a well established part of the community that brings quality entertainment to the area. Very good choice

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holly154981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The BEST part of downtown Belleville”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have been to many events at the Empire Theatre. The sound is perfect, seats comfortable, staff outstanding and overall cleanliness and upkeep of the building is impeccable. This truly is the best part of downtown Belleville. Mark Rashotte always brings a wide variety of events to Belleville. There is always something for everyone from the Trailer Park Boys, Rockfest, Rick Mercer, kids events to RiverDance. On more than one occaision we have purchased tickets for my retired parents as a Christmas gift to one of the events. They were thrilled with the experience. It really is at the top of it's class. Recently we saw Journey at Rockfest which is held outside the building. Fantastic event and well handled. My only complaint, which is my fault, is that I purchased General Admission tickets. Did not realize that smoking is allowed in General Admission and as a non smoker it was impossible to escape. Will never purchase General Admission again. Lesson learned. This past visit would have been perfect if I would have purchased seating for this sold out event. Buy your tickets early!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KONeil290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Empire Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Empire Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing