We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nothing special”

Wickie's Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #229 of 502 Restaurants in Barrie
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bad Pyrmont, Germany
Level Contributor
287 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The ambience is obviously pub style with the décor and dart boards over our heads. It was early afternoon and quiet when four of us had a lunch. They had wings on offer and they were good. We had one order of fish and chips and the fish was a little too heavily battered. The Reuben sandwich was good and tasty but the burger was salty and dry and the chips which came with it were soggy. The service was very friendly. This doesn't seem to be the best place for just something to eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dasreiseteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    20
    23
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly Local, Good Fish and Chips”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a friendly local pub with good fish a chip special during the week. The price is right and the beer I had was cold and fresh. The fish and chips which I specifically went for was a great price (under ten dollars form 11 am to 3 pm). The atmosphere was average during the day, I have never been in the evening but a group of men were enjoying some companionship and seemed to know the friendly staff quite well. I would take friends here any time for the fish and chips during the day. There is a separate billiards area which I did not investigate. The staff I encountered were friendly and very helpful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Those of you who remember the Sit Com "Cheers", will know what i mean.
Super friendly staff. If you want to sit and chat in a quiet corner or listen to tunes, shoot pool or darts its perfect. Menu has great pub fare. Love the Cajun crispy wings and when in the mood to prove my manhood & hurt myself with the "Tomacide" wings it duz not get any hotter ! ! !
It truly is a place where every one knows or wants to know your name.
Cheers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beanster11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good service in all”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

It was great sometimes and other times the food tasted just okay.. it probably had to do with the chef that was cooking....over all though, I would go back again

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Super Bowl Buffet ever”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Can't say enough about the amazing Super Bowl Buffet tonight. Loved everything especially the chili, pulled pork and Mac n cheese. Welcome to Wickies Chef Lisa, you are truly awesome. Keep up the great work. And kudos to our amazing server Kelly, you rock.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wickie's Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wickie's Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing