We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mamma Mia!”

Pizzeria Italia Restaurant
Ranked #192 of 507 Restaurants in Barrie
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Center
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Mamma Mia!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Not great, not bad...just hearty Italian food a little less good than Nino's but still pretty good.

Helpful?
1 Thank Davax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“You won't be sorry - good food and prices”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have been going her for years, and very little has changed. Which is a positive. From the outside you question whether to go in, but inside is open and bright. It is run by a brother/sister duo who took over from their parents. We have been there for lunch, both business and pleasure; dinner; parties where they prepare different Italian courses prior arranged by the host. We have never been disappointed, nor have we gone hungry. It offers basic Italian fare - pasta, home made pizzas, etc. and affordable pleasant wine. They even offer a gluten-free pasta alternative as the cook's daughter is coeliac and knows they have to eat too! It is not an intimate, candlelight dinner type place, but they make you feel welcome and honoured to be their guest. They are very open to you making special requests in your food because you are visiting them which I appreciate.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jangale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We grew up in Barrie and started going to this family owned restaurant back in the 60's. It was good then and it's still good.We have moved out of town and decided to try it once again. The bread is home made and you get big slabs served with butter. The sauces all home made. You have your choice of pasta and then have around 12 types of sauces to choose from.The price goes up with the ingredients you choose. Base price with sauce is $7.95 Rigitoni w/ bolognese is $10.50 for a huge serving. I had the veal parm on a bun toasted and warm with extra mush/onions also around $10 and hard to eat it all. Their house salad with iceburg lettuce is huge $4.95 (best to share) with olives radishes etc etc. Full meals (Veal /chicken parm, etc incl salad are more expensive at around $20 . What a real treat to go back and find a wonderful home cooked meal.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yummy, real Italian food for the meat lover!”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We visited the Pizzeria Italia in downtown Barrie after reading great reviews about the place. The outside is nothing fancy, and the inside is certainly unpretentious, but the food was great value for money! Main meals include salad and Italian bread – note that there was not a vegetable in sight with the main course. We had the veal al limone and the chicken cacciatore, with plenty leftover to take home. For dessert we can highly recommend the Belgian chocolate mousse cake.! Our three course meal for two with ½ litre of wine came to ~$80. Friendly staff, relaxed environment, no annoying background music :). Pizzas looked good, we’ll certainly go there again to try something else from their large menu.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitty_Brewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Ontario (1 hour north of Toronto)
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This is an Italian restaurant that looks like a take out/delivery place from the outside. Passed by it for years and finally was told that it was a sit down restaurant.
We have been going now for about 5 years.
The decor is nothing to write home about but the food is fantastic. From the homemade Italian bread put on the table to the exceptional Caesar Salad and the pasta dishes - everything is done to perfection. I have not had the Pizza but friends that we have been with have tried the pizza and they say that it is the best they have ever had.
Owned by the same family for over 45 years - you would thoroughly enjoy this place for the outstanding Italian food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Italia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria Italia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing