We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to par”
Review of Fitzy's Crab Shack - CLOSED

Fitzy's Crab Shack
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Center
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not up to par”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This place use to be one of our favs, good food - really good food, regrettably, Fitzy's is on a serious downhill slide - last couple of times has been nothing short a horror show - food lacking in quality and lip stick on the martini glasses come on!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HiMiler M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    4
    7
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brutal”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Warm beer, cold service. Overly noisey for dinner hours, but that matches the over priced crapola food. Save you time and your health and hit McDonalds.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brentzach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Does the Manager Read These ?? Clean it UP!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I have been in Barrie for 10yrs now and each year this place looks like it is getting worse. The food is usually great , but I have noticed even that is starting to go down hill. Always out of everything , Your a seafood place why are you out of Seafood at times ?? And you NEED TO FIX THAT PATIO/FLOORS !! and overall your whole decor . So outdated and disgusting to look at . We have noticed new Staff and they really are not all that knowledgeable or friendly to customers. In order to get people back you need to make customer service a priority. Try Ikea they sell great light fixtures/candles etc , Even that would help your place ! Too bad to see this place go so down hill..

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Every restaurant in Cuba is beter.”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Let's start with the bathroom, they have not been cleaned in days I can guarantee. So discussting. After waiting 40 min for escargot apitizers we were told it would be another 10 min. Needless to say our meal was not forthcoming. I would not recommend this restaurant as a joke. After we brought this to the managers attention they gave us the bill and shrugged us off.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mykb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have been going to Fitzy's for the past several years and usually get there 3 times each summer. We enjoy having supper on the deck overlooking the lake.
We do not live in Barrie. It is about a 30 minute drive (mostly highway) for us to get there from our home.

We encouraged our best friends to go with us on July 7th. It was their first time at Fitzy's. We did not have a reservation and my husband did not think we would be able to get a table on the deck. But, we decided to give it a try because we had talked it up so much with our friends.
My first clue that something was wrong should have been when there were plenty of tables available on the deck even though it was 7:30 pm. Prime time on a summer night in Barrie.

What a disappointment!

Service was slow, slow, slow. We often had to look for our waitress.

We ordered appetizers and the special of the day - seafood linguine. The appetizers were very good. Our friends had calamari and we had crab cakes. We should have stopped while we were ahead.

We then waited 45 minutes for the entree' which is absurd. When it arrived it was watery and only 2 of the 6 mussels were open. We all placed the unopen mussels on a separate plate. We told the waitress about this when she came by and she offered to take them back into the kitchen to have them cooked longer. We said no....you can not do that with mussels.
The other ingredients were the very tiny cocktail shrimp and miniscule quarter-inch scallops. No flavour in anything.

At the end we told our waitress that this was the worst meal we had ever had at Fitzy's and wondered if there was a new chef. She said no...not a new chef. She offered two very small slices of cheesecake to make up for the lengthy delay in receiving our meal and the fact that we could not eat the mussels. The four of us were supposed to share these tiny pieces of cheesecake. She should have offered individual pieces for all of us as we had all had the same problems with the identical dish. We asked for coffee at the end of the meal. The waitress advised against the coffee saying that it was of poor quality. My goodness!! Needless to say we were not impressed.

I don't know if we will ever return. There are so many restaurants in Barrie that it would not make sense to spend $100 for 2 people at Fitzy's for an inadequate meal. The total bill for the 4 of us was $175.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fitzy's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing