We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude waitress”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nino's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #123 of 513 Restaurants in Barrie
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
barrie, ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude waitress”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The waitress was very rude. The food was bland. I ordered lasagne at $21.00 for a small portion. It didn't come with garlic bread or salad. Very highly overpriced. Very little meat and I couldn't see or taste any cheese and tasteless. My friend ordered the cheese ravioli which they didn't have. The waitress recommended another cheese dish which was very bland. The waitress spoke to the manager and when she came back to the table said in a very loud voice: "I've taken it off the bill this time, but we normally don't take it off just because you don't like it, the next time you will have to pay for it." There won't be a next time as far as I'm concerned. When I left, I did not tip the waitress and she made a comment to our friend "what will she do when she lives in a shoe" (whatever that was supposed to mean). What happened to the great value priced food that Ninos used to serve? No wonder there was no one else in the restaurant. There waitress is driving people away.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank centralcustomfoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    11
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Been going here for decades!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Good, hearty italian grub. Not fine dining but pretty good. Pasta is NOT overcooked. Service is cordial, prices, fair.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Davax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie ON
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Glad we didn't stay”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I had always heard that Nino's was "Barrie's Favourite Italian Restaurant" so as we were in the mood for pasta we gave it a try.
It was early on Sunday afternoon but the place was absolutly empty which seemed odd.
Greeted warmly told to pick our table in a dining room right out of the 1970's. The tables had glass tops added with what seemed like a dried floral arrangement underneath.
We got our menus and for the atmosphere it seemed at least 20% over priced.
We changed our minds got their take out special and went home to enjoy our own wine with dinner (rather than pay $35 for a $12 bottle there). The special was 2 spaghetti with meat sauce, caesar salad and bread (added meat balls but they were pretty bland 3 for $4)
I think the sauce was also bland, had a decent tomato zip to it but that was it. If the rest of the menu was the same I am glad we got take out for $35 rather than eating in and being really disapponted for $100.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CdnWineLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Great Italian restaurant. Small but very personal service. Great food and large portions.

Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply lovely”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Had a craving for pasta and my partner suggested we try this little place. It doesn't look like much from the outside, what with the old sign, but the interior is clean, cozy and full of family photos. I prefer this kind of atmosphere over the "cut and paste" chain restaurants. Mind you, I imagine that it would get rather noisy if the restaurant was full, as it had many available tables. Service was prompt and friendly.

The food came in generous servings and was all delicious. The Ceasar salad for two could probably serve 3 very hungry people. My partner and I split a pasta that was similar to a puttanesca, but had mushrooms instead of chilis. It tasted quite fresh, very flavourful -- and the pasta was perfectly cooked. Warm bread, seemingly homemade bread was served with the meal, as well as garlic bread! Lots of food, all just divine. Would definitely recommend, and would definitely return

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nino's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nino's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing