We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“always a good meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Furusato Japan Restaurant - CLOSED

Furusato Japan Restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“always a good meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I love love love their bento box lunch. Always fresh, great miso soup and tempura. They even have private booths for a more authentic Japanese experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    5
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful service !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We tried to eat dinner again at Furusato on Tuesday evening... We were sat in a near empty restaurant, there was one other table of 4 and one gentleman at the sushi bar. We immediately were seated , provided menus and then completely ignored for over 10 minutes. The server got tied up with dealing with the chefs ad then took a take out food call. Needless to say, we left without ordering food.... This is our last visit. We have been many times before over the last 2 years, enjoyed great food and great service. This place has gone down hill severely, the dining room is in bad need of some cleaning, dusting and a fresh coat of paint. They would also benefit from some customer service training to retain what little business they have left!

Helpful?
1 Thank lbailey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orillia ,on,canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Service Required”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

You have to wait to be seated...once you are seated you have to wait for somebody to give you a menu....wait for your order to be taken...wait for your food to arrive..wait for your drink orders...this is when there were only 3 other tables that were occupied...it took forever for the bill to arrive...a horrible experience !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hawkrridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Needs renovations, badly.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Food is good a fresh, nice presentation. Waitresses barely understand English. The wallpaper is stained and dirty, floors look like they haven't been washed in a month. Bathrooms are dirty with a bad odour. Staff are friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LinCor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst sushi experience for the price”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The chicken-udon soup was tasteless and realchickenless, the sushis we received weren't even close to what we ordered and the service was apathetic. Deceptions were one after the other and the price paid was one of them. There are a lot of good sushi restaurants, Japanese restaurants, whatever restaurants in this world and just as many reasons NOT to go to Furosato Japan Restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diamond_turbocut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Furusato Japan Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing