We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good variety, service needs some work.”

Casa Mia Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 509 Restaurants in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Innisfil, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good variety, service needs some work.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We went with another couple and the menu and specials offered a lot of variety. Our friend was impressed with the seafood dish and the number of mussels on his plate. My chicken el Greco was very tasty but I made the mistake of having the pasta instead of potatoes or rice. The whole plate was smothered in the meat sauce and you could not tell where pasta started and the chicken ended. The meat sauce is very tasty but very filling.

The restaurant was busy as always on a Sunday night and we had to remind the waiter re the bread and water top up.

Make reservations, lots of free parking.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OntarioTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    45
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lots of great food”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is my fourth time visiting Barrie & each time, we've gone to Casa Mia. We love the food & the atmosphere. Service is great. This visit, I was with 3 friends. 3 of the 4 of us loved the food. One liked it but she had the dish served better elsewhere. Good value for money.
Go hungry because the portions are huge.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank penguinlady59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lunch with the Girls”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The apmosphere is very appealing very good value for your dollar . Wonderful greek salads with main coarse . Found coffee to be very strong and bitter . My pet peeve the servers . Very reluctant to look after you . Example two needed fill ups one got it the other neglected asked for more cream never got it either.
Management should be aware of staff and how they treat patrons . To me it's not enough to serve food come back ask how it is and never to be seen again. we all made a comment on how we were approached . We all agreed the server was not the greatest but the food was great. Will be go back not for some time

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donnamarie168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Take A Big Appetite!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Casa Mia serves up huge amounts of food, with taste and style. We've been there 3 times, and each time service has been just fine. The menu is mainly Greek and Italian, and the decor is definitely Greek, but in subdued earth tones instead of the more usual blue and white. We find it a nice soothing atmosphere.

Last night I had a pork souvlaki and my partner ordered a red snapper which was a special of the day. The fish was tender, with a nice crisp skin underneath, done just right with minimal lemon butter. The souvlaki appeared to be a whole pork tenderloin -- I barely managed to eat it all and probably shouldn't have done -- but it was also tender and done-just-right. Most places where I've had souvlaki use a much cheaper cut and then it comes out tough and chewy. They have the most delicious roast red skin potatoes, which I love, and also a decent assortment of grilled vegetables. Dinners include soup or salad, and the house salad is fresh and a decent size, with dressing on the side. Fresh bread is nice, but just ordinary.

Many dishes on the menu are baked in the oven and topped with tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese, so if you like that combination you will have lots of choices. Otherwise, choice may be a bit limited. The wine selection is also limited, but well-chosen.

As others have noted, the parking lot is VERY cramped and any large vehicle will have trouble getting into a spot.

We'll be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny0654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We won't be back”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We used to really like it here, but the last time I was there (for lunch) the food was poor. Further to this, when I went into the restroom there was what looked like rodent droppings on the floor.....the gross out factor ended our meal for us. We won't be back.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank WouldntULike2Know
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Mia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Casa Mia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing