We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch!!!”

Mandarin Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 507 Restaurants in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Award-winning buffet featuring delicious Chinese, Canadian, and International dishes - all prepared fresh daily. Serving over 150 all-you-can-eat items including soups, salads, sushi, grilled items, hot entrees, and desserts. Also offering a-la-carte, take-out and delivery.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Top notch!!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Wow have these guys stepped up their game. I don't know if some competition opened up near by but these guys are securing their share of customers with fantastic food and excellent service. Walking in the door and we were greeted by friendly staff, and each staff we passed by on the way to being seated greeted us. My ice tea was refilled twice without asking which is small but appreciated. The food was so good and well presented. My only regret was not having more space to try more things. The price was $21.99 each and $2.50 for ice tea. It was well worth it and I will be back next time through Barrie.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Halligan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    242
    113
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great selection!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Stooped for our first time on our way back up North. We got a table very quickly and were welcomed at least 6 times. They do pride themselves on service. It is almost too much. There was a very good selection of everything, and I found the food to be hot, tasty, but a bit overpriced. The decor is very glitzy, but I would definitely return, as overall we were very pleased. The senior discount is a nice incentive also.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boombah49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
201 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Really Great Service”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went to this place 2 times during our vacation in Wasaga Beach. We love Mandarin and decided to try the Barrie location. The service here is "TOP" rate. The employees at this location are very well trained and skilled. We had the opportunity to meet one of the owners, Carolyn Xavier, and thought that was a great touch. She introduced herself to us and was very nice. The 2nd time we returned she recognized us and said hello again. Carolyn does a great job looking after the guests and directing her staff. We felt well taken care of and really enjoyed the food choices as well. We will likely return here again the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jiffypop101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing service”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Everything I ate at this restaurant I loved. Service was unbelievable, We would take a sip of water and two seconds later there would be someone filling it up. We felt it was unnecessary that the Manager came to our table and introduced himself as he interrupted our meal to give us the same speech our waitress gave us. It was a nice gesture though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic service. Great variety of excellent food”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I have dined at Mandarin Restaurants before and while they all have excellent variety, this one had fabulous quality as well, along with superb service. Our waiter constantly came by to see what we needed, which is unusual in a buffet-style restaurant. one of the owners (Allan Teng) came by also to find out how we had enjoyed our meal and to thank us so much for coming. He was charming.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bseagram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mandarin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing