We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food Great service..”

Mandarin Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 509 Restaurants in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Award-winning buffet featuring delicious Chinese, Canadian, and International dishes - all prepared fresh daily. Serving over 150 all-you-can-eat items including soups, salads, sushi, grilled items, hot entrees, and desserts. Also offering a-la-carte, take-out and delivery.
Reidsville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food Great service..”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

It was already after the lunch crowd was over, however being a little hungry, I thought why not go back to the Mandarin...and with 20 % off for a senior what a deal...and what a feast for lunch. No waiting at this hour to get a table. I started with some large cold shrimp I had to peel, but I no sooner sat down to enjoy them and the waitress brought me a hot face cloth, how nice is that? sure beats a dry paper napkin. I enjoyed a sampling of many other dishes the flank steak was very tender and tasty...the fish cooked on the grill should be tried, not the deep fried battered fish, which is also good but favorite is the one they cook up in front of you...
Again good food, great service and a great value...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrBean30453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    246
    117
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“I call it the "trough"”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Massive quantity and not bad quality, while we weere waiting thjey came around with finger food to apologise for line up. Constant refresh of the buffet even the high demand items like crab legs and shrimp. Dessert is not a strong point for them - but who has room anyway?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank curioustravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beware the food”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

In light of the many favorable reviews of this restaurant I must share my experience. I was taken there for a family occasion, my first visit. It's a rather glitzy place but the food was at best mediocre, some good dishes, some not so great. The big problem is that I got food poisoning, probably from the plate of chilled kiwi mussels. I was dreadfully ill for several hours. We informed the restaurant but visitors should be aware that this place is not careful with dishes that are susceptible to easy spoilage. I had not been ill from food for forty years so this was a really bad experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It is a formula buffet, but brilliantly performed.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The variety is excellent, fresh and well prepared. There are even some offerings that are close to excellent. This is very hard to do on such a scale, and makes a relatively high price/person a worthwhile choice.
What really sets the Mandarin apart is that it is very well managed. Service from entrance to exit is absolutely superb and sincerely delivered. One feels wanted and appreciated by the staff as they help to deliver a great experience.
It's great to watch the kids go wild on all their favourite stuff!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sinniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place if you are HUNGRY!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have been here several times. There is always lots of good food and good service. The buffet is huge with all the choices in the world. There is also a good selection of "Canadian" food. The sushi is passable and great soaked in soy sauce and wasabi. The dessert selection is fabulous!
If you leave here hungry there is something wrong with you. I'm a chef and very picky, but always come away from here satisfied.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChefCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mandarin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing