We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far - Best family motel we've been to”
Review of Super 8 Barrie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Barrie
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Reviewed August 26, 2007

I booked my stay solely on the recommendations of users on this site. I was not disappointed!
I checked into room 302 which is a family room featuring a queen with 2 bunk beds. The kids had their spot with an Xbox and LCD tv. Wonderful........
Room was clean and had a fridge and was quite large.
Only 2 drawbacks - should have used better soundproof windows during construction (little noisy in the morning with rush hour traffic) and noisy bathroom fan. I saw the maintenance guy heading up to 302 as I was checking out. Thats great staff.

Pool and H/T were clean and they had plenty of pool towels. Also nice that they have a shower for before and after your dip.

What sold the place for me was the free breakfast. A hot and cold breakfast with bacon, eggs, make your own waffles, cereal, danish..... etc. That saved me $15-20 alone.

By far the best family hotel for the price we have ever stayed at and will be booking a room there again when we are in Barrie. I highly recommend to others especially with kids.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,169 - 1,175 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2007

I stayed one night at the Super 8 in Barrie. I reserved the room about two weeks in advance by calling the hotel directly. I found an online rate of $99 for a room with a king size bed.

The hotel is very new (it was built in March I believe). Everything felt very modern. I had no problems checking in. The room was very clean and came with a TV, mini-fridge, microwave, high-speed internet and a coffee maker.

What's the difference between a motel and a hotel again? I was under the impression that a motel wasn't as nice as a hotel, but the Super 8 in Barrie was nicer than many hotels I've been to.

There was a complimentary continental breakfast (which I took full advantage of) that included bread, english muffins, croissants, fruit, cereal, cinnamon rolls, bagels, buns, and even a waffle maker.

My only complaint is that the lock on the bathroom door was broken, but I told the checkout desk on the way out and they promptly made a note of it and said it would be fixed. They also thanked me for telling them (hey, if you don't say anything, nothing will ever be done.)

All in all a great stay, I will definitely stay there again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ultimateguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2007

Thank you for your wonderful comments!
The bathroom lock has been fixed now and we are in the process of adding a hot breakfast option by the end of August.
We know you have many options when choosing accommodations, we only hope that we will be your first choice when back in Barrie!
Yours in hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Benetton89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick A, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Vmamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick A, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pas choisir lit double et lit simple si pas besoin, car vous allez croire être dans chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick A, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
Thank Welliton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick A, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kikijeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick A, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
3.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#16 of 19 in Barrie
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Barrie / Hart Dr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Barrie

Address: 441 Bryne Dr | Ontario, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6C8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range: $64 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Barrie is one of the city's newest hotel properties. We are located in the newly developed south end of Barrie and within walking distance to major restaurants, coffee shops, banks and retail outlets! Our 82-room, 4-storey hotel property includes a variety of guest rooms and suites to suite your needs. Spend a night in one of our Traditional Rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen-size beds. If you're looking to treat yourself, you can spend a night in one of our Superior, Jacuzzi or Family Suites for an additional $10. Our Executive King Suites include a king-size bed, fireplace with sitting area, pull-out sofa bed, jacuzzi tub and wet bar! All of our rooms come fully-equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and brand new 32" flat screen LED TVs. All of our guests receive a free SuperStart Hot Buffet Breakfast with either cheddar cheese omelettes or scrambled eggs, sausages, Belgian Waffles and a variety of cereals, breads, muffins, yogurt, fruits and juices. Coffee and tea are available in the lobby 24-7! We also have a pool, hot tub and 24-hour fitness centre! Our Business Centre is available 24-7 for guests and we also have faxing, scanning and copying services available! Our guests also enjoy access to free high-speed wireless internet throughout our hotel! We are 100% smoke-free and pet-friendly! We look forward to hosting you during your next visit to Barrie! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Barrie Hotel Barrie
Super Eight Barrie
Barrie Super 8
Barrie Super Eight
Super 8 Barrie Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing