We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value Ever!”
Review of Super 8 Barrie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Barrie
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I picked this place solely due to its location, but will return because of great staff, cleanliness, all the things you look for in a hotel. I stay at lots of hotels, but this one provided the best value I've seen in many years. I thought the price was reasonable for just a bedroom, but it turned out to be a suite! The hotel staff was the most friendly I've ever encountered - every one of them! Particularly cool was the internet connection - both wired and wireless available. I've never seen that before! THe breakfast was great, rooms were extremenly quiet. Overall - the best in Barrie.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaker_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,101 - 1,107 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2010

I was driving from Ottawa to Vancouver with my parents and decided to stay the night at Barrie before we headed to Sault Ste. Marie. Seeing the good reviews on here about this Super 8 I decided to book it, and I'm very glad that I did. This is definitely one of the better Super 8's out there (as we did stay in a couple others across the country following this stop, but they weren't that great.)

The location is excellent. Located close to the highway, but not close enough to be noisy over the night. There was plenty of places to eat nearby for dinner. A short ~10 min drive to downtown Barrie. I got up early in the morning and enjoyed the short drive to Centennial Park and snapped plenty of beautiful pictures of the Barrie sunrise. Our stay was not long enough for us to witness much in terms of service, but the staff was definitely very friendly and greeted us with smiles.

Rooms were good. They are everything you expect from a sub-$100 hotel. Beds were comfortable (I would think anything is comfortable after a long day's drive), bathroom was clean, TV with plenty of channels. There was absolutely nothing I could complain about. There wasn't any wifi in my room, but the front desk was more than happy to lend me with an ethernet cable. I think the highlight of the stay, though, was the breakfast the next morning. Everything from cereal, juices, bagels, toast.. to eggs, bacon, sausages. From all the places I stayed throughout our trans-Canada trip, this was definitely THE BEST.. and it was free! Oh, and did anyone mention the DIY waffle-maker? What a fun way to start the day! :)

Next time you drop by Barrie, go ahead and pay Super 8 a visit. I'm sure you won't regret it

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nubpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I booked a block of 15 rooms for a business trip with colleagues. We all arrived the evening of Sep 17/10. The location of this hotel is great, there are restaurants all down the street as well as fast food, banks, big box stores and anything else you can think of! We went to dinner next door at Eastside Mario's but you can also order room service from the restaurant.
Beds comfortable, as were the pillows. Our room had a fridge and a microwave. Continental breakfast was included. White bread in the container had mould on it and the eggs were powdered. Waffles were good as were the english muffins.

One lone gentleman was booked in a room in the middle of our block of 15. He complained and security came to shush us after 11pm which I totally understand but why book someone in the middle of a bunch of colleagues? He would have been much happier and content at the end of the hall I'm sure.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananabrianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Having never thought I'd stay at a Super 8, I ended up booking this hotel with my son in mind as they have "Kids Suites" that include Xbox and bunkbeds. He was not disappointed in the least. We picked up our games at the desk on check-in and the bunkbeds even had Harry Potter bedspreads on them. Check-in was smooth and easy. Desk clerks in the evening and in the morning were both wonderful and attentive to all questions, etc. They have a great breakfast in the morning and their pool is also very nice! This property is in a busy section close to food (though I would suggest avoiding the Boston Pizza at all costs due to its horribly loud atmosphere even on a Monday night and its terrible customer service!) and shopping and feels very safe. Also, our stay was very, very quiet the entire time we were there.

The only negatives I found with this hotel is the rather steep hold they put on your credit card on check-in ($250.00CDN). Our bank puts a hold on our account for a week once a merchant puts a hold on the account, so even after we were home and Super 8 had lifted their own hold, our money was still tied up through our own bank. But, not to worry, a quick call to Super 8 and their GM, Mirka, got my bank a fax stating that Super 8 had dropped their hold, which allowed our bank to also drop the hold on their end. Now that's customer service that doesn't even end once you leave the property!

Only other negative issue I found with this hotel was the room quality wasn't superior. There was a small hole in the wall above our door and the furnishings in the room were well-used. The kids' room such as it is, was very small and totally taken up with the X-box station and bunkbeds with only a curtain to serve as a door. But this is more a parent's perspective than a kid's I think because our son was really into having his "own space" and the 'coolness' of bunkbeds and game station. For the price we paid, the customer service, and all the other amenities this hotel provides, it was money well spent and I wouldn't hesitate to book in again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddington6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We arrived in Barrie after a long day of driving and were greeted by very friendly, helpful staff. The hotel was spotless. The room was large (technically a living room, bathroom and bedroom) and well appointed. We were traveling with two cats and there were no problems with that. The breakfast the next morning was very good. All in all it was definitely the best stay of our trip.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank ElliotH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We really like it!...kind assistance, good, pleasant service, comfortable rooms, nice breakfast breakfast...all that made our stay very welcome!.. We certainlly return every time we visit Barrie.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel for a baseball tournament. The staff was all very friendly and accomodating. The rooms were clean and smelled clean. Considering that the hotel was fully booked it was quiet. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and lots of variety. The only downside was the size of the pool but the boys didn't seem to mind and it was never overcrowed.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisPickering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road
3.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
3.1 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Barrie / Hart Dr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Barrie

Address: 441 Bryne Dr | Ontario, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6C8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Barrie
#2 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range: $63 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Barrie is one of the city's newest hotel properties. We are located in the newly developed south end of Barrie and within walking distance to major restaurants, coffee shops, banks and retail outlets! Our 82-room, 4-storey hotel property includes a variety of guest rooms and suites to suite your needs. Spend a night in one of our Traditional Rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen-size beds. If you're looking to treat yourself, you can spend a night in one of our Superior, Jacuzzi or Family Suites for an additional $10. Our Executive King Suites include a king-size bed, fireplace with sitting area, pull-out sofa bed, jacuzzi tub and wet bar! All of our rooms come fully-equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and brand new 32" flat screen LED TVs. All of our guests receive a free SuperStart Hot Buffet Breakfast with either cheddar cheese omelettes or scrambled eggs, sausages, Belgian Waffles and a variety of cereals, breads, muffins, yogurt, fruits and juices. Coffee and tea are available in the lobby 24-7! We also have a pool, hot tub and 24-hour fitness centre! Our Business Centre is available 24-7 for guests and we also have faxing, scanning and copying services available! Our guests also enjoy access to free high-speed wireless internet throughout our hotel! We are 100% smoke-free and pet-friendly! We look forward to hosting you during your next visit to Barrie! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Barrie Hotel Barrie
Super Eight Barrie
Barrie Super 8
Barrie Super Eight
Super 8 Barrie Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing