We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super 8 Barrie Ontario”
Review of Super 8 Barrie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Barrie
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    440
    171
    58
    32
See reviews for
453
317
56
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed June 9 for 1 night. Check in was quick but there was some question about applying Aeroplan when I used Hotels.Com to reserve the room. Not resolved yet. Room very basic with mini fridge,mwave. Phone service down entire stay, wifi and cable kept going on and off. Clean.Typical beside the 4 lane hwy property. STAY AWAY FROM EASTSIDE MARIOS. A dump.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank argofan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick A, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear argofan2014,

Thank you for your review and for your comments regarding our quick and efficient check-in process. Aeroplan points are available to guests who book directly with the hotel either by phone or on Super8.com. Guests who book with third party websites such as hotels.com lose out on the benefits associated with booking directly with the hotel property. Please book with us directly during your next stay and we will be happy to provide you with Aeroplan points. We apologize about the inconvenience that you had experienced with the phone system and cable during your stay as we were transitioning to a new phone system and cable service and as a result had some down-time during the initial set-up process. We hope to host you during your next visit to Barrie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blind River
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

See u next time. Always a great stay while in the Barrie area. Close to everything. And feels like home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Skidder1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick A, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Skidder1972,

Thank you for your glowing reviewing of the Super 8 Barrie! We love the creative title of your review. Our entire team strives to make our guests feel at home throughout their stay and we look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at how clean, nicely appointed and spacious the room was at this Super 8. I normally would not book a Super 8 but did so based on the Tripadvisor reviews and I have to say it was a very nice stay. Just far enough from the highway that is was fairly quiet other than the one morning at 4:30 am that the dumpsters at the mall behind were emptied. I am not a continental breakfast person and though there are eggs and such I chose not to eat at hotel but it did look okay. There is a Cora's right around the corner that opens at 6 am if you like an omelet..etc. Plenty of other restaurants for dinner in the immediate area as well. Staff was friendly and room was kept nice and clean. I would certainly stay here again if back in Barrie on business.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick A, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Jason M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are thankful for your comments regarding our clean and well-appointed guest rooms. We are glad that we had surpassed your expectations of the Super 8 Brand and look forward to hosting you the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here last night and before getting into bed my wife noticed hair in the sheets, yes pubic hair.
Not just one but four or five.
Needless to say we called front desk, she came up and was shocked.
She said she could not get hold of the manager. We felt for this poor girl.

She took pictures as we did and said she could not get us clean sheets cause house keeping was gone. We slept in second bed, no manager but full bill under the door.
We had a business meeting in this hotel the entire next day and requested that the manger please come and see us and he would not.
The receptionist said she could offer us 15 percent off, not what we wanted, we wanted to discuss this with the manager.

We will never, never return to this hotel. What an awful experience we will stay at the holiday inn on the other side of Bryne drive. Next meeting we have at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigparrysound S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick A, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking great time and effort to write this false review of our property. We have absolutely no record of your complaints and none of our front desk agents had come into your room to view what you claim to have found in your bed. If a guest is unsatisfied with the condition of their room for whatever reason, we are happy to provide an alternate guest room and more than willing to provide a free upgrade. Claiming that one of our front desk agents entered your room and 'took pictures' raises red flags as to the credibility of your review. Managers are more than willing to meet with unsatisfied guests and once again there was no effort made to contact a manager. As Barrie's top-reviewed hotel property, currently sitting at 502 reviews, we are proud to say that only 1.39% of our guests have rated us 1/5. Every once in a while, we are faced with unreasonable guests who try their level-best to cause commotion in an effort to receive a free night's stay from a hotel. We are grateful for your decision not to stay with us in the future and would recommend you to arrange your future meetings at another hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
3.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 19 in Barrie
172 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Barrie

Property: Super 8 Barrie
Address: 441 Bryne Dr | Ontario, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6C8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Barrie
#2 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Barrie is one of the city's newest hotel properties. We are located in the newly developed south end of Barrie and within walking distance to major restaurants, coffee shops, banks and retail outlets! Our 82-room, 4-storey hotel property includes a variety of guest rooms and suites to suite your needs. Spend a night in one of our Traditional Rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen-size beds. If you're looking to treat yourself, you can spend a night in one of our Superior, Jacuzzi or Family Suites for an additional $10. Our Executive King Suites include a king-size bed, fireplace with sitting area, pull-out sofa bed, jacuzzi tub and wet bar! All of our rooms come fully-equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and brand new 32" flat screen LED TVs. All of our guests receive a free SuperStart Hot Buffet Breakfast with either cheddar cheese omelettes or scrambled eggs, sausages, Belgian Waffles and a variety of cereals, breads, muffins, yogurt, fruits and juices. Coffee and tea are available in the lobby 24-7! We also have a pool, hot tub and 24-hour fitness centre! Our Business Centre is available 24-7 for guests and we also have faxing, scanning and copying services available! Our guests also enjoy access to free high-speed wireless internet throughout our hotel! We are 100% smoke-free and pet-friendly! We look forward to hosting you during your next visit to Barrie! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Barrie Hotel Barrie
Super Eight Barrie
Barrie Super 8
Barrie Super Eight
Super 8 Barrie Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing