We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Super 8 Barrie
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$85
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$86
$72
FourPoints.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$85
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$117
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$56
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Clydesdale House(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,223)
Filter reviews
1,223 results
Traveler rating
444
469
206
66
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
444
469
206
66
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseast side mariosfront desksausagewafflesbunk bedsjack astorswalking distanceroom was cleanhot breakfastjacuzzi suitehot tubwaffle makerwould stay here againone night stayconvenient locationfree breakfastthe breakfast area
Filter
Updating list...
1,051 - 1,056 of 1,223 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My spouse and I decided to stopover in Barrie this past Friday night as the weather was horrible and it was advisable to get off of the roads instead of continuing to travel up north. This hotel was off of the first exit entering Barrie and a 30 second drive from the exit. The hotel looks new and way better than other Super 8's that we've stayed at. We receives a CAA discount on the already low rate and were impressed when told that a hot breakfast was also included which by the way was delicious. Staff was friendly and we are recommending this hotel to our friends. Keep up the great work and Merry Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyCol72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear CindyCol72,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a phenomenal review! We are a popular stopover for many guests as we are the first exit into Barrie for those driving up north and literally a 30 second drive from the Mapleview Drive exit ramp. We try our best to offer guests a unique Super 8 experience! We are a contemporary 4-story hotel that offers a completely free Hot Buffet Breakfast to all of our guests and a property that strives to go above and beyond in providing unparalleled customer service and exceptionally clean accommodations. Our main priority however, is to offer all of these amenities to guests at a great price! We are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations and look forward to hosting you again!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I decided to leave our kids with her parents and to have a night's getaway at the Super 8. We stayed in one of their Jacuzzi suites and got the Do Not Disturb package which included wine and chocolates. Check-in was quick and efficient and our stay was great. At the time of booking, we did not know that a hot breakfast was included with our stay. What a bargain. The breakfast included hot items such as scrambled eggs, sausages and waffles. These waffles were not eggo waffles, but we had to pour the waffle batter in waffle irons and they were great! We had dinner at Montana's, which is located right behind the hotel and received a 15% discount just because we were Super 8 guests. The location of the hotel is phenomental. We would recommend this place to couples looking to have a getaway from the everyday.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi Suites are a good option
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Amit S,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review! We are glad that you enjoyed our Do Not Disturb package, as it is a popular option with couples looking to have a romantic getaway! At the Super 8 Barrie, we try our level best to ensure that our guests have a complete experience and we are glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! Thank you for your great comments about our SuperStart Hot Buffet Breakfast. The waffles are very popular with all of our guests and we are glad that you enjoyed making fresh waffles on your own! We look forward to your next visit to Barrie!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have spent over 21 days here at an unbelievable rate with no issues other then the ice machine is on the ground floor only.lol Great people work here and do everything they can to help you out except deliver ice to the room. Thanks for the great time.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltier_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear saltier_2000,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review! We are very honoured that you have summed-up your experience with us in one word, "Perfection". We always try our level-best to provide our long-term guests with exceptional rates while ensuring that they get that special home-away-from-home experience. We are glad to have you back with us again this year and look forward to making your stay with us even more pleasant than 2012!

Yours in Hospitality.

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My family and I visited this Super 8 for a hockey tournament in November. Check-in was smooth as there was enough staff at the front desk to clear the line up of hockey parents within a few minutes. For the group rate that we received, this place was a super bargain. A free hot breakfast was also included in the price and the rooms were well kept. This place is surrounded by eateries. We ate at East Side Mario's (right next door) during our first night and at Jack Astors on the second night right across the street. The pool area also kept the kids happy. To make things even better, we had a great tournament. We will be back here with our team next year.

Room Tip: Choose the Superior Suite. Good choice.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Janet W,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review! We are always happy to read about our guests having had such a complete experience during their stay at our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed our clean accommodations, free SuperStart Hot Buffet Breakfast, the use of our pool and other hotel amenities as well as our great location. Our goal is to provide our guests with a great experience at a great price and we are thrilled that we were able to make this happen for you! We look forward to hosting you again!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My buddies and I stayed here in late November and it was a solid experience.

The hotel is located right off the 400, near the Molson Centre, so it's an ideal location. Within walking distance you have several (read: dozen?) restaurants, gas stations, etc. It's not far from Vaughan Mills, too, so you could easily make a weekend out of it with a Colts hockey game.

Inside the hotel - it's alright. The lobby was clean, the rooms were nice, and there was nothing to complain about. I wish the breakfast area had been larger, but it was busy that morning so not much could be done.

In the end, the surroundings make this hotel what it is. There's nothing wrong with this place, not by any stretch. It has what you need. However, if you want a "wow" factor, something that really stands out inside the hotel, you may not find it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OHLTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear OHLTG,

Thank you for your great review and comments about our hotel! We are one of Barrie's newest hotels and ideally situated in the city's newly developed south end. As you have mentioned in your review, we are within walking distance to major restaurants, coffee shops, banks and retail outlets. Most guests tell us that our 'wow' factor exists in our value. Guests are able to receive exceptionally clean accommodations, great service and a free hot breakfast in a great location for a low price. We look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews