We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Super 8 Barrie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Barrie
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Rocanville sask
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have spent over 21 days here at an unbelievable rate with no issues other then the ice machine is on the ground floor only.lol Great people work here and do everything they can to help you out except deliver ice to the room. Thanks for the great time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltier_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear saltier_2000,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review! We are very honoured that you have summed-up your experience with us in one word, "Perfection". We always try our level-best to provide our long-term guests with exceptional rates while ensuring that they get that special home-away-from-home experience. We are glad to have you back with us again this year and look forward to making your stay with us even more pleasant than 2012!

Yours in Hospitality.

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    440
    171
    58
    32
See reviews for
453
317
56
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My family and I visited this Super 8 for a hockey tournament in November. Check-in was smooth as there was enough staff at the front desk to clear the line up of hockey parents within a few minutes. For the group rate that we received, this place was a super bargain. A free hot breakfast was also included in the price and the rooms were well kept. This place is surrounded by eateries. We ate at East Side Mario's (right next door) during our first night and at Jack Astors on the second night right across the street. The pool area also kept the kids happy. To make things even better, we had a great tournament. We will be back here with our team next year.

Room Tip: Choose the Superior Suite. Good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Janet W,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review! We are always happy to read about our guests having had such a complete experience during their stay at our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed our clean accommodations, free SuperStart Hot Buffet Breakfast, the use of our pool and other hotel amenities as well as our great location. Our goal is to provide our guests with a great experience at a great price and we are thrilled that we were able to make this happen for you! We look forward to hosting you again!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, ON
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My buddies and I stayed here in late November and it was a solid experience.

The hotel is located right off the 400, near the Molson Centre, so it's an ideal location. Within walking distance you have several (read: dozen?) restaurants, gas stations, etc. It's not far from Vaughan Mills, too, so you could easily make a weekend out of it with a Colts hockey game.

Inside the hotel - it's alright. The lobby was clean, the rooms were nice, and there was nothing to complain about. I wish the breakfast area had been larger, but it was busy that morning so not much could be done.

In the end, the surroundings make this hotel what it is. There's nothing wrong with this place, not by any stretch. It has what you need. However, if you want a "wow" factor, something that really stands out inside the hotel, you may not find it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OHLTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear OHLTG,

Thank you for your great review and comments about our hotel! We are one of Barrie's newest hotels and ideally situated in the city's newly developed south end. As you have mentioned in your review, we are within walking distance to major restaurants, coffee shops, banks and retail outlets. Most guests tell us that our 'wow' factor exists in our value. Guests are able to receive exceptionally clean accommodations, great service and a free hot breakfast in a great location for a low price. We look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My family stayed at the Super 8 in Barrie during a hockey tournament. The hotel was very clean, breakfast that was included was good, the room was amazing, the bunk beds for the boys which was in a separate area for them and had an XBox 360 that they could sign out games and play. This was the best part for them and is a terrific idea to keep them busy and quiet, plus the bunk beds is awesome due to the did not have to share a bed, they had their own bed. I will always try to find a Super 8 Hotel like the one in Barrie anytime I travel from now on. It was a great experience for us. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Thank you again for an amazing experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Shelley P,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled that you and your family had an exceptional experience with us! Our Family Suites are very popular with young families as the kids absolutely love the idea of sleeping on bunk beds and having their separate room-within-the-room. We are constantly upgrading our selection of XBOX 360 video games to ensure that the young ones are fully entertained! Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of our hotel and about our SuperStart Hot Buffet Breakfast. Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in providing our guests with exceptionally clean accommodations, and we are one of the few hotels in Barrie that offers such an extensive variety of free hot breakfast options. We are extremely lucky to accommodate great guests like yourself and hope to see you again in the very near future! Wishing you and your family the very best for the new year!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My family and I booked a room at the Super 8 and received a great deal when we booked and prepaid in advance. The property is fairly new, very clean and the breakfast was awesome. There was such an air of friendliness from the moment that we walked in. The front desk asked for our floor preference and gave us discount coupons to surrounding restaurants. We ended up having dinner at Boston Pizza since our kids love their boneless wings and we received a free appetizer just because we were staying at the Super 8. After dinner we realized that we had forgotten some necessities at home and were told that there is a 24-hour Walmart right across the street. I have never been to a hotel that is ideally situated within walking distance to pretty much everything. We will be back again when in Canada!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseRudis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear JoseRudis,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review! Many of our guests take advantage of our Advance Purchase rate which allows guests to save 15% off our Best Available Rate when they book and pre-pay 7 days in advance. The Super 8 Barrie is one of the newest hotel properties in Barrie and our housekeeping and maintenance staff take great pride in providing exceptionally clean accommodations to our guests.

We have also exceeded our brand standards by offering a complete FREE Hot Buffet Breakfast with an immense variety of options including: scrambled eggs or cheddar cheese omelettes, sausages, fresh Belgian Waffles and a variety of cereals, breads, bagels, muffins, fruits, yogurts and juices. Coffee and tea are also complimentary all day long! We're happy that your family was able to take advantage of our discount coupon at Boston Pizza. Super 8 guests are also entitled to special discounts at East Side Mario's, Montana's and Topper's Pizza. As you have mentioned, we are ideally located within a 2-minute walking distance to just about everything! There is also a 24-hour Sobey's right next to the 24-hour Walmart and our hotel is surrounded by banks, shopping and coffee shops. We are glad that you were able to have such a complete experience while staying at the Super 8 Barrie and we look forward to your next visit!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I travelled to barrie with family and we were amazed from the time we drove in. Plenty of space to park in front. Front desk staff was friendly and professional. Rooms were clean and modern. Beds were comfortable. We ended up extending our stay for another night. Breakfast had many options. Restaurants, stores are all in the walking distance. We loved it and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Michael G,

Thank you for your great review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Super 8 Barrie! Our front desk staff takes great pride in making our guests feel at home and we are happy that you enjoyed our clean and modern rooms as well as our free SuperStart Hot Buffet Breakfast. All of our guests enjoy our great location which like you said is walking distance to restaurants, banks, coffee shops and shopping. Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting your family again!

Yours in Hospitality,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Booked hear for a Saturday night, based on trip advisor. I felt let down as it was not that great! The rooms were clean but average at best.
I asked for the best rate when booking, I received a prepaid rate but was not told it was prepaid rate. I was surprised when I saw the charge on my visa bill before arriving.
The worst part, the DOG next door barked all night. Than howled and cried for an hour when its owner went for breakfast.!! Complained to front desk but nothing happened. Will not return. Recommend the Hampton's or Days Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gIB4Gib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeyoualongtheway, General Manager at Super 8 Barrie, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear gIB4Gib,

Thank you for writing us a review. At the time of making your reservation, you were persistent that you wanted the best possible rate and our Guest Service Associate offered you our Prepaid Advance Purchase Rate which gives you a 15% discount if you book and pre-pay 7 days in advance. All hotel chains offer discounts for reservations that are prepaid and booked in advance. We only went ahead with the reservation when we received your okay. As a result, you were charged before your arrival date. This is our normal procedure for Prepaid reservations. I apologize for the noise from the dog next door, and I can assure you that we try our best to keep noise to a minimum while being a proud pet-friendly hotel. Although, Tripadvisor.com is a forum for guest's to voice their pleasure or displeasure, it most certainly is not a place to advertise other hotel properties in the surrounding area.

All the Best,

Mick Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
3.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 19 in Barrie
172 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Barrie

Property: Super 8 Barrie
Address: 441 Bryne Dr | Ontario, Barrie, Ontario L4N 6C8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Barrie
#2 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 Barrie is one of the city's newest hotel properties. We are located in the newly developed south end of Barrie and within walking distance to major restaurants, coffee shops, banks and retail outlets! Our 82-room, 4-storey hotel property includes a variety of guest rooms and suites to suite your needs. Spend a night in one of our Traditional Rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen-size beds. If you're looking to treat yourself, you can spend a night in one of our Superior, Jacuzzi or Family Suites for an additional $10. Our Executive King Suites include a king-size bed, fireplace with sitting area, pull-out sofa bed, jacuzzi tub and wet bar! All of our rooms come fully-equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and brand new 32" flat screen LED TVs. All of our guests receive a free SuperStart Hot Buffet Breakfast with either cheddar cheese omelettes or scrambled eggs, sausages, Belgian Waffles and a variety of cereals, breads, muffins, yogurt, fruits and juices. Coffee and tea are available in the lobby 24-7! We also have a pool, hot tub and 24-hour fitness centre! Our Business Centre is available 24-7 for guests and we also have faxing, scanning and copying services available! Our guests also enjoy access to free high-speed wireless internet throughout our hotel! We are 100% smoke-free and pet-friendly! We look forward to hosting you during your next visit to Barrie! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Barrie Hotel Barrie
Super Eight Barrie
Barrie Super 8
Barrie Super Eight
Super 8 Barrie Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing