We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveler rating
196
128
46
18
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
128
46
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenone bedroom suitetime sharelaundry facilitiespicnic tableswasaga beacharcade gamesgames roomjacuzzi tubwasher and dryerski slopespull out couchminute drivelong weekendfitness centerindoor poolking bed
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 406 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2017

Our family stayed at Carriage Ridge resort for 2 nights - a Wednesday and Thursday and left on Friday morning. We stayed in a studio room which had a pull out couch and King bed and a kitchenette (bar fridge, microwave, single sink) and balcony. Our kids enjoyed playing on the playground and swimming in the Carriage Ridge pool. Our room was located close to both of those things. There was also a bbqing area but we didn't use it. It was great to be able to reheat food in our room, and the balcony was relaxing. The setting is nice and was about a 20 minute drive to Barrie and about 45 minutes to Penetang. There are no elevators which was unique for a hotel setting but they've got a more rustic lodge thing going on I think. We may consider staying here again at some point but for a week this time and if we did that would go with a larger suite with a full kitchen. This size of room was perfect for our short stay though. The room was in decent condition - there was a hook missing from the back of the door in the washroom and someone had left ice cream treats in our room fridge but otherwise it was clean. We had limited contact with staff but anyone we met was friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Scampersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017

We traveled to this resort as part of a weekend celebration for my in-laws 40th wedding anniversary.

Beautiful location and the accommodations were clean, and VERY spacious! Our room had the extra add-on room.....so for a family of 4, we had a ton of space! This made for great sleeping arrangements.....and the kids thought it was fun to have their "own" little place.

I appreciated the fridge, mini fridges, laundry facilities, etc. - was easy to make or prepare food in our own room if wanted.

The pool was clean and spacious. Hot tub wasn't thrilling (we're spoiled with our own at home) and towels were readily available.

The kids played on the climbers, slides and monkey bars one morning and enjoyed that.

I was hoping to get some late-night food on the Saturday and to my surprise everything was closed! This place is great, but it's in the middle of nowhere, so grocery store and gas station down the road close early. I was able to find one spot open past 11pm (CRAZY HORSE restaurant at Horseshoe Resort) and picked up wings and calamari.....but was wishing we had brought some food and fruit from home.

Also, a fun little arcade room for the kids at night (play pool, pacman, buck hunter, etc.)

If you're looking for some r&r it's a nice little spot. If you're looking for action and lots to do, you might want to pass.

Happy traveling ;)

Matt

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room if you have little kids or travel with seniors; the third floor is a lot of steps up ;)
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

We arrived at almost midnight on a Friday night. Check-in was great, very friendly and helpful staff. We originally booked 3rooms on expedia a while back and the price we paid we found it to be a bit high but that all changed when I saw what we got for it.
One room that we booked was supposed to be a 2 bedroom but it was slightly detached. The main room had a full kitchen, huge living room (all open concept), nice big bedroom that led into the washroom area. This room also had a Jacuzzi bathtub that came as a surprise. The place was massive, very nice and very clean. And the location was absolutely breathtaking. Maybe it's because the time of the year but we found it very quite. Although the parking lot was full when we got there and even the next day it was so nice and quite. We really enjoyed out stay. The bed was very comfortable and the Jacuzzi came in handy after the 5.5hr obstacle course. I look forward to returning next year and maybe even for some skiing in the winter. Loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoHeartsNowOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017

Booked Carriage Ridge for a weekend getaway to celebrate our anniversary. I had read the reviews before going so therefore I brought along some easy breakfast things, bagels, English muffins peanut butter, cream, some fruit etc. Check in was quick and easy. There were a lot of people checking in on Friday but the staff were very friendly and processed our check in quickly and efficiently. Yes you have to drive to your unit, not a big deal. Parking is right in front of your place. We had a beautiful, large suite that was very clean and every detail was taken care of! Plenty of towels, toiletries, even laundry detergent and nice welcome basket with coffee, sugar, tea, popcorn, drink crystals etc. Such a wonderful idea! There are bbqs around the units for you to use. We did not use the pool or hot tub but it did look wonderful. You are only 8 mins by car to a Foodland with LCBO, there is also a restaurant there among-st some other things. Those complaining about how remote it is are crazy! You can come prepared for the morning and if needed you can take the short drive and get what you need. We LOVED our stay and have decided that we want to do this every year for our anniversary! We also told our kids about it as well, our son is already looking into booking a stay. If you go like we did at the right time in July you can also partake in Barrielicous fpr wonderful meals at certain restaurants in Barrie. Such a win, win! Book a stay...it's fantastic!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank formykids12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

Where to start...we booked a one bedroom suite as we were travelling with the kids for sports. Was beyond excited when we pulled in to find the same style condo's we stay at state side. We had a huge room, bathroom with shower and tub for the little kids, two tv's which eliminates any arguing as to which show they will watch. A full kitchen with dinning area to sit and eat a meal. A beautiful fire place, full laundry facilities, BBQ's in between the units. Great playground and pool (indoor/outdoor) with a games room. The staff are very helpful with whatever your need maybe. The kids had room out back to ply their sports without disturbing other guests, parents were able to socialize in areas that didn't disturb other guests. Only downfall or negative thing was the early checkout. Execellent place to stay.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank Sarah1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews