We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE BUT HARD TO FIND”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carriage Ridge Resort
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 8, 2013

GREAT condo type rooms with mini kitchen and balcony...however they have two resorts..carriage RIDGE and HILLS..two separate entities...reception is at carriage hills, carriage RIDGE is down the road through a residential neighborhood...very strange indeed...
Amenities such as pool and fitness and not attached to hotel...separate building...fitness room very small with outdated machines...pool very average.
BE CAREFUL if you go here during the week as the area shuts down at 6pm...seems that everything including restaurants close early... forcing you to drive into Barrie (20 mins away) to get food....no restaurant on site, however there is a small food outlet at the golf course near carriage HILLS...
ALl in all, a bit of a strange set up, but rooms are worth the trip.

Room Tip: try to get a room at carriage HILLS, not RIDGE..its closer to everything
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moldy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for Carriage Ridge Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 370 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

Now I have not stayed here during winter but we spent a weekend during late September. The place was clean and the rooms were roomy. We liked the BBQ in the courtyard with picnic tables that we could use. The BBQ area was very clean and the BBQ grills (2 of them) were extremely clean so we had no worries using them. I would definitely recommend getting a suite with a balcony. The mattress bed is not so comfortable. The suites had all the kitchen utensils and cutlery.

Room Tip: Highly recommend getting a suite with a balcony
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian_Vacationer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for providing this feedback. We apologize that your mattress was uncomfortable. We will share this information with our staff. We are glad you enjoyed the resort amenities made available to our guests. We hope you come back to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The inside are very nice, and have everything you'd want: Comfortable beds, Jacuzzi, full kitchen,gas fireplace, nice tables. The outside definitely needs painting and other work. This resort had lots of activities planned everyday, which they need since there isn't a lot to do around the area in the fall (when we were there). We especially liked the aqua fitness in the inside swimming pool. There are many good golf courses close by. Most of the good restaurants are a 30 minute or more drive -- in Midland or Barrie.
Resort employees were enthusiastic and very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetraveling99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Spacious rooms with some nice touches such as jacuzzi tub and gas fireplace. One bedroom units come with full kitchens with most utensils you will need included. Pool facility is decent but nothing out-of-this-world.

Check in/check out times are an issue. The 4 pm check in isn't too bad, but it is ridiculous to have a 10 am check out. It's supposed to be a holiday. Noon would be a much better idea.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have stayed at this resort several times over the past 8 years. I will say the decor has never changed and it is starting to show. The check is 10 am, which I have never stayed any where that is that early. Typically it's 12pm at most hotels/resorts. So since we were travelling with family for a birthday party, we thought we would pay the extra $35 to check out later at 1:00. However, while we were all at the pool, our room keys were de-magnetized so that none of the 4 keys would work. The front desk claimed someone just didn't have it marked for our late check out. That however did not fix the fact that we all had to wait outside in our wet bathing suits with a baby until someone in our group went back down to get them recharged. We were on the top floor which is challenging when bringing up suitcases, toys, cooler etc. Beds were very uncomfortable in both rooms. New mattresses are definitely needed. However, there is a great kitchen area and laundry facilities.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for late $35 for the late check out. Otherwise, check out is 10 am.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fortune1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We recently stayed here for a week as a timeshare exchange. The resort is nice. There was a woman(don't remember her name) in the activity building that was helpful planning excursions to Toronto & Niagara Falls. We actually didn't spend much time at the resort-we were always out doing other things, so I can't comment on the activities,etc.

Room Tip: The building we were in had 3 floors & no elevators,so be sure to ask about room location if sta...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We arrived mid-week on a combo ski package. Downhill for her and cross country for me. We were well greeted and well treated at this location and found good value in the WagJag coupons we got for the downhill portion. Located behind the ski hill and the "other" nearby resort, we found restaurants in nearby Barrie and Orillia. The resort was quiet (mid-week) and the rooms were large, clean and had well stocked kitchenettes.

Room Tip: There is a difference in age and location between the "ridge" and "hills" rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveling_Dad48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.6 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#8 of 19 in Barrie
993 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
12.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
11.7 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Ridge Resort

Address: 90 Highland Dr, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barrie
Price Range: $77 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carriage Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriage Ridge Resort in Horseshoe Valley just 1 hour north of Toronto, a four-season natural playground with rolling hills, lakes, rivers and forested trails. At Carriage Ridge Resort you’ll find all the comforts and amenities of home in a spectacular country setting. One bedroom and two bedroom condominium accommodations feature fully equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces and jetted hot tubs, making Carriage Ridge Resort absolutely ideal for family vacations, romantic getaways and golf and ski groups to Ontario and the Horseshoe Valley. Whether you want to ski meticulously groomed trails through snow-laden forests of pine, tee off at one of eighteen area golf courses, hike or mountain bike one of several picturesque trails, or just relax at the end of the day, Carriage Ridge Resort in Horseshoe Valley is your very own base for fun and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carriage Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Ridge Hotel Barrie
Carriage Ridge Barrie
Carriage Ridge Resort Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing