We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for the soccer tournament in Barrie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carriage Ridge Resort
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    109
    40
    15
    14
See reviews for
162
113
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2008

My Wife and I along with our Twin 8mth old boys spend a great two night stay at Carriage Ridge. The resort was guick to supply us with highchairs and playpens. Even with all this the rooms were plenty big enough and didn't feel crowded.
Although with the twins we were not able to take advantage of all the resort has to offer.
We enjoyed the clean well appointed rooms and quiet surroundings.
I am already planning my return trip for a golf holiday, the area has plenty of golf courses and ski areas.
Cheers.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DLSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

My husband and I found this resort online and thought it looked beautiful. Not only were the prices great, but the resort rooms looked beautiful!! For the same price you would get a regular hotel room we got a beautiful one bedroom condo. We had a living room, full kitchen, bedroom, and a huge jacuzzi tub. Our view off our balcony was beautiful. The hotel staff were all very friendly and very attentive. We stayed for 2 nights and during our stay we had calls from the front desk asking if we needed any help planning activities, and they even phoned around and found out what local attractions were open for the season.

It was a short drive into downtown Barrie and an even shorter drive to a well stocked grocery store, LCBO, and restaurants. The only downside of our vacation was that there is no restaurant located on the premises, and while we were there the casual restaurant at Horseshoe was closed and some of the close by restaurants closed pretty early because it was their off season. I would not recommend the Country House pizza delivery. We spent $35.00 for a medium pizza and 1 lb of wings and it was all inedible.

We will definitely plan on staying at the Carriage Ridge Resort again. It was a beautiful resort and we had a great stay there!

  • Liked — That we had our own kitchen
  • Disliked — No restaurant on premises
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Magills070706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

We haven't been to Canada for awhile now and we were greatly impressed with the property, the care, upkeep, the employees were great, the rooms were great!

We enjoyed the property from the swimming pool to just hiking!
The rooms were very, very clean! Plenty of towels and other things to make our stay comfortable.

I have stayed at many a fine place and this property ranks right up there!

Sincerely,

MK Fraser II

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank FraserMgmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2008

We stayed at the Carriage Ridge resort last week and we had a great time. The weather was incredible which is always a plus.

We had a 2 bedroom suite for ourselves because I booked with RCI (timeshare) and it was the same price then a 1 bedroom. The room was huge! We had a full kitchen with everything you could think you would need to cook. There was also a dining room and a living room. The bedroom was great and seperate from the living area and the jacuzzi tub was to die for!
We also had access to the studio but we didn't use it at all (except to store our bikes).

The room made me feel just like if I was home because it was so neat and comfortable. The only down side was the uncomfortable couch in the living room...

There is not much to do around the resort (we were after ski but before golf season). We went and visited Collingwood, Wasaga beach, Orillia, Elmvale (maple syrup festival) and Barrie. Each town had great areas for walking and biking and some small stores to shop.

We also did a day trip to Niagara fall, Niagara on the lake and we visited 11 wineries. It was a blast! It takes 2.5 hours to go to Niagara on the lake but it was definitely worth it!

We used both pools at the Carriage Ridge and Carriage Hills. Both were clean and well maintain.

We ate at Abbott's: was okay, we were not that impressed
Tara (indian restaurant in Barrie): excellent lunch buffet for 9.50$
A japanese sushi restaurant just off the Essa exit on the 400 in Barrie: was excellent, you have to like sushi!
La cachette at Stern (winery in Niagara on the lake): fancy but food was excellent. Price reasonnable for lunch.

We ate in our room most of the times. They had several BBQ on site so it was great.

Overall, we took this 1 week vacation to rest before we have our second son (we are expecting in 3 months). It was great to have some time to ourselves without our 19 months old son. The Ridge was a great getaway to relax! I would definitely recommend it!

  • Liked — The kitchen, jacussi tub and BBQs on site
  • Disliked — the pull-out couch in living room (very uncomfortable to sit on)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawadivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

My fiancee and I had been very stressed lately over wedding plans. We really needed some time away together. I researched a little online and came up with Carriage Ridge. We were excited to see they offered suites with a fireplace and jacuzzi.

We spent one night and it was wonderful. Very quiet and peaceful. The grounds were lovely, as the snow was melting. Staff was also very friendly.

We look forward to another relaxing trip in the future.

  • Liked — The feeling of comfort.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ggirard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.6 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#7 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
11.7 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
13.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Ridge Resort

Property: Carriage Ridge Resort
Address: 90 Highland Dr, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carriage Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriage Ridge Resort in Horseshoe Valley just 1 hour north of Toronto, a four-season natural playground with rolling hills, lakes, rivers and forested trails. At Carriage Ridge Resort you’ll find all the comforts and amenities of home in a spectacular country setting. One bedroom and two bedroom condominium accommodations feature fully equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces and jetted hot tubs, making Carriage Ridge Resort absolutely ideal for family vacations, romantic getaways and golf and ski groups to Ontario and the Horseshoe Valley. Whether you want to ski meticulously groomed trails through snow-laden forests of pine, tee off at one of eighteen area golf courses, hike or mountain bike one of several picturesque trails, or just relax at the end of the day, Carriage Ridge Resort in Horseshoe Valley is your very own base for fun and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carriage Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Ridge Hotel Barrie
Carriage Ridge Barrie
Carriage Ridge Resort Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing