We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Food, Excellent Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of KoHyang House

KoHyang House
Ranked #26 of 498 Restaurants in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Food, Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Nice, fresh, Korean menu and very good service here. You can get a private table which is kind of good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cleobella13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    18
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This has become our go to restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Price, service, gracious hosts, and oh wait ... The food. At this point in time simply Barrie's finest Asian restaurant. Only problem is some of the dishes are so good it keeps you from exploring the rest of the menu . I have a hard time breaking away from ordering the Dolsot Bibimbap but it's perfection in a hot stone bowl!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank MarkLIttlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Korean Food North of Toronto!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Without a doubt the best Korean food north of Toronto. It should also be said the staff and owners are fantastic people! After coming back from Korea this is a once a week must to get my kimchi and bulgogi fix. Would definitely recommend this great value for great food Korean restaurant. Should also mention we had a party of 8 and they set us up in our own private room off to the side, great experience!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant with very good Korean food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our family has Korean roots and has enjoyed many a Korean meal, homemade or restaurant made. KoHyang House was warm and hospitable with very good Korean food. The portions were very good for the price and the service was excellent.

One of the owners (Mother?) made a special point to make sure we had enough of her kimchi and other pickled veggies and they were all delicious!

We also had a Sushi platter which was very good.

If you are looking for good quality Asian at a fair price in Barrie please try these guys out, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bitamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“where's the flavour in my BiBimBap?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Having been to Korea, and had Korean food in Toronto many times, I was VERY excited to see a Korean restaurant finally open in Barrie. The restaurant is cute and the service was very good.

However, where are the metal Korean chopsticks? Why did I have to ask for the pickles that usually come with bibimbap or many Korean dishes? I think the kimchi and pickles should be served in much smaller plates/dishes... as most people in Barrie will not eat so much kimchi or pickles. I do think it is important to serve them though, as this is part of the Korean experience, and some people may like them and return just for those little treats. I do think it's important for the waiter to offer advice on how to add the hot sauce to the bimbimbap and to explain what the dishes are... as many people may not have experience with Korean food - but could grow to love it, if given the chance.

I also think the bibimbop needs more flavour, more sizzle with sesame oil. The # 13 was delicious, as was the sauce that came with it. So, if you're a fan of bibimbop... make sure to ask for extra sesame oil or flavour in the stone bowl. You know it's a good Korean restaurant, when you leave smelling of Korean food.

I was a little disappointed in my Korean restaurant experience in Barrie... but hope they can improve, as Korean food is so healthy and delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brucecounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KoHyang House also viewed

 
Barrie, Ontario
 

Been to KoHyang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing