We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spin on a classic!”

Grilled Cheese Social Eatery
Ranked #4 of 501 Restaurants in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A soulful sandwich shop featuring Gourmet Grilled Cheese in the heart of lakeside downtown Barrie!
Port Carling, Canada
2 reviews
“Great spin on a classic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We often grab a grilled cheese for a quick lunch but always have a hard time deciding which one to have! Great selection of sandwiches all with their own interesting and tasty twist. If you are looking for a quick bite in a great atmosphere stop by and see Randy at this great little family run eatery.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prem O, Owner at Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Thank you! You are too sweet :) We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    65
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A feast for the eyes as well as the stomache”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

The Grilled Cheese Social Eatery is one of those quirky little gems you find and want to tell everyone about! The restaurant is warm and inviting with a decor that will feed your eyes, while their menu of gourmet grilled cheese will feed your belly. They have a sandwich that even pays homage to the iconic "Spirit Catcher" of Barrie and includes bacon and avocado (my personal favourite). The staff are extremely pleasant and happy to make recommendations, and the food is prepared and served quickly. This restaurant is a wonderful and welcome addition to Barrie's downtown.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleJenniren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prem O, Owner at Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
We love to overload all your senses, not just your taste buds. Thanks again. See you soon! #love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not your mama's grilled cheese.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is the place to indulge your childhood enjoyment of a grilled cheese sandwich with adult flavour. The menu has inventive options and choice of bread, even gluten free. The side salad was crisp and fresh, simple with a light tasty dressing. Potato chips are the other side choice for those with a salty craving. The outdoor patio is an extra bonus for summertime. The décor inside is casual and eclectic. I've been twice and the service has been friendly and fast each time. There is a calm, relaxed vibe about the place. Definitely will return several times to work my way through the menu of interesting combinations.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prem O, Manager at Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
We're sure your Mama makes a mean grilled cheese ... but we are the gurus of Grilled Cheese. Just sayin! Thank you for your kindness. Namaste!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Grilled Cheese!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Need I say more? Great grilled cheese from plain jane kraft slice on white to gourmet cheese and bread from around the world, great place for a light meal

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ronfischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prem O, Owner at Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Hey Ron, Thank you so much for the kind words. We hope to see you again real soon. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

I recently got together with friends at the Grilled Cheese Social Eatery and we all enjoyed it very much. To start, who doesn't love grilled cheese? They have a good variety of sandwiches, with the option of a salad or chips. The place also has a cool "hipster" vibe to it. Eclectic music playing in the background, murals on the wall, and one of the most interesting bathrooms I have been in for some time, lol. It has more of a coffee house feel than a restaurant feel. I would easily visit again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funky_canadian_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prem O, Owner at Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Hey, thanks you so much for taking the time to post a great review. We love you for it! Glad you enjoyed your visit, see you soon! Peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grilled Cheese Social Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Grilled Cheese Social Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing