We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable experience”

Grilled Cheese Social Eatery
Ranked #5 of 509 Restaurants in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: A soulful sandwich shop featuring Gourmet Grilled Cheese in the heart of lakeside downtown Barrie! Good vibes! Good People! Good food!
Bowmanville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable experience”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I recently got together with friends at the Grilled Cheese Social Eatery and we all enjoyed it very much. To start, who doesn't love grilled cheese? They have a good variety of sandwiches, with the option of a salad or chips. The place also has a cool "hipster" vibe to it. Eclectic music playing in the background, murals on the wall, and one of the most interesting bathrooms I have been in for some time, lol. It has more of a coffee house feel than a restaurant feel. I would easily visit again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funky_canadian_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prem O, Owner at Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Hey, thanks you so much for taking the time to post a great review. We love you for it! Glad you enjoyed your visit, see you soon! Peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    69
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great, friendly service with a smile...fantastic food!
We've been here numerous times (with and without the kids), and will continue to go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lish66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prem O, Manager at Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
So much kindness. Thank you. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“GREAT 1st Impression!!!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked in, to the moment we sat down and received our food, I loved every bit of it. Felt like walking into a nice college café place specifically for a great grilled cheese sandwich. The variety is nice, the value for what we paid for was very good. Staff was pleasant, but again the grilled cheese...would've had another if we didn't have to be somewhere lol. Wish I took pictures this time around, but that's ok, I will do it next time...and there WILL be a next time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheeMrsLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prem O, Owner at Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Good morning Mrs Long. Thanks for the great review. We are so happy you had a good time and a greta grilled cheese. We will see you soon, and we will hold you to taking that pic too. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cheese, Cheese and More Cheese”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This little establishment on Dunlop Street is very interesting and a great place for a light lunch. All kinds of grilled cheese sandwiches and very delicious. The chips are great too and different from regular French fries. The décor is eclectic and the washroom is worth the visit alone. Cash or debit only. Limited hours.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prem O, Manager at Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Thank you Joyy! We have just figured out how to reply to our reviews. Egad! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

yummy treat in downtown Barrie. Happy to make the pitstop on the way to the cottage. Fast, easy, cheap and delicious!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prem O, Owner at Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, responded to this review, January 16, 2015
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grilled Cheese Social Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Grilled Cheese Social Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing