We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guardian of the Lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spirit Catcher

Spirit Catcher
Maple Avenue & Simcoe Street, Barrie, Ontario L4N 7W4, Canada
705-739-9444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 46 things to do in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Nordegg, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Guardian of the Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This majestic metal monster is uniquely Barrie and a must see when you are in the city. I have been visiting the park since 1989 and this sculpture is a familiar landmark that welcomes me there. The park around the sculpture has changed significantly over the years. In '89 it was an empty field devoid of any creativity. Now, in 2013/14 it is a beautiful walk/bike path park complete with waterways, fountains and shade areas. The sculpture stands where it did 25 years ago guarding the harbour front and the city. Unique and worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ledicarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    43
    10
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
608 reviews
303 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,580 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Great spot right on the waterfront. Great for all ages, opportunity to walk, jog, rest and watch the world go by whatever suits you. Lively landmarks and 'historic' interest too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Strange and Strangely Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I live in Barrie and the giant metal sculpture is one of the things I love to show friends and family when they come to visit me. It's right at the waterfront, where there are walking and biking paths, a marina, fishing, playgrounds, and of course the beach!
It is a very strange piece. It's very large and is up on a hill as well. The feathers of the wings actually move! They creak in the wind.
I think it's kinda scary-looking, but I guess it's like a gargoyle: ugly and fierce, but designed to keep the evil spirits at bay.
If you're downtown visiting Barrie, you'll probably catch a glimpse of it in the distance. Take a walk down, or drive by, and check it out! There is a small parking lot right at the base of it, but I believe it's paid parking.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CeeGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
348 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very nice well maintained area for walking, running or biking whatever your preference. Grounds are well maintained. Spirit Catcher is a beautiful sculpture in the City of Barrie.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Barrie's Landmark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Spirit Catcher sits on the banks of Kempenfelt Bay near the downtown area. Barrie has a wonderful waterfront and you cannot miss this cool landmark. Bring your camera....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 1953connie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit Catcher also viewed

 

Been to Spirit Catcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing