We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location”
Review of Spirit Catcher

Spirit Catcher
Ranked #3 of 49 things to do in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
681 reviews
332 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,758 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Great spot right on the waterfront. Great for all ages, opportunity to walk, jog, rest and watch the world go by whatever suits you. Lively landmarks and 'historic' interest too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    57
    14
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Strange and Strangely Beautiful”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I live in Barrie and the giant metal sculpture is one of the things I love to show friends and family when they come to visit me. It's right at the waterfront, where there are walking and biking paths, a marina, fishing, playgrounds, and of course the beach!
It is a very strange piece. It's very large and is up on a hill as well. The feathers of the wings actually move! They creak in the wind.
I think it's kinda scary-looking, but I guess it's like a gargoyle: ugly and fierce, but designed to keep the evil spirits at bay.
If you're downtown visiting Barrie, you'll probably catch a glimpse of it in the distance. Take a walk down, or drive by, and check it out! There is a small parking lot right at the base of it, but I believe it's paid parking.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CeeGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
460 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great area”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very nice well maintained area for walking, running or biking whatever your preference. Grounds are well maintained. Spirit Catcher is a beautiful sculpture in the City of Barrie.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Barrie's Landmark”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Spirit Catcher sits on the banks of Kempenfelt Bay near the downtown area. Barrie has a wonderful waterfront and you cannot miss this cool landmark. Bring your camera....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 1953connie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
498 reviews
201 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Stunning artwork seen against frozen Lake Simcoe”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stumbled across Spirit Catcher on a recent day trip out of Toronto. While it wouldn't be worth a special journey, it's certainly worth a small detour if you're in the Barrie area, and it provides a stark and interesting image against the backdrop of a frozen Lake Simcoe. My only complaint is that there's no free parking nearby; 15 minutes' free to contemplate its meaning and look at it from all angles would be helpful. There's also a shortage of photographic vantage points that don't get cars in the foreground - and yes, maybe those last two are contradictory thoughts!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MKMapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit Catcher also viewed

 

Been to Spirit Catcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing