We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Love love love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Monkeys Craft Brewery

Flying Monkeys Craft Brewery
Ranked #1 of 2 Food & Drink in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Leading Ontario's Craft Beer Revolution, the Flying Monkeys brew award-winning beers in their unique waterfront brewhouse right in Barrie’s historic downtown. Known as one of the friendliest, most hospitable tours around, experience for yourself the world of craft brewing and sample fresh local beers with the Flying Monkeys. Always FREE, the brewery is the best cheap date around!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Love love love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Every time the staff are so friendly and attentive. Each year we visit I get a new t-shirt and some beer for our vacation. Still waiting for the monkey to arrive in Kelowna BC

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shidoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    20
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
232 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Bizarre Beer, Lengthy Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I must say that the staff at Flying Monkeys is incredibly generous in their sample selection and pours. Though we found their beer not to our taste, I understand the allure.

The tour was informative, but incredibly detailed. If you're new to brewery tours, I'd recommend it, but if not, the length of their tour (90min) can wear on you. Perhaps it was the guide's keen interests that elongated the tour. It wasn't a bad thing, it just started feeling repetitious.

Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stayner, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good beer!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Sat on the patio on canada day, ambiance was lively with a live bands doing a decent job, beer was great but the heifenweisen was a bit on the hoppy side for my taste(seams to be common practice in ontario) the fruit beer all tasted good except the hibiscus one, maybe just a personal taste but... Service was pretty slow but friendly. They also have a pretty cool store inside selling t shirts and weird monkey stuff. Definitely worth a try! On the down side I would say it would be nice to have food but it's only for drinks....

Helpful?
Thank kinkajouzaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 611 helpful votes
“Flying Monkeys Brewery...Just DO it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you are thinking of visiting the Flying Monkeys Craft Brewery in downtown Barrie, Just DO it!
What a wonderful place, almost magical; excellent beers, fantastic staff, clean as a whistle, free tours available, everything as it should be.
For the past 4 years my girlfriend Colleen and I have visited each Canada Day and make a ritual of sitting and enjoying 4 of their beers for only $5 bucks, awesome deal.
But more important, it's a reprieve from the hustle and bustle of the world; we sit and savour their hand-crafted delights in a blissful air-conditioned environment.
Come see how these folks have changed an old brewery into a world-class micro brewery, right in our own city!
Pictures below are from today's July 1st celebration, but do visit and make your own memories.
Cheers,
Paul

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulshappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I had been to this brewery before and was not able to take in the tour. This time I was able to take in the tour. The tour guide was informative and engaging. She knew the product well and was able to answer questions with ease. The tour is not long - about fifteen minutes or so. It provides some history of the area and some insight into the company. I would suggest showing up about a half hour before the start of the tour to take in the shop and sample beer. In all I spent about an hour there and enjoyed the experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Monkeys Craft Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Flying Monkeys Craft Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing