We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice experience”
Review of Clydesdale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barrie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clydesdale House
Ranked #2 of 8 Barrie B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We spent a very good time at the Clydesdale House, my girlfriend and myself. Denise and her husband are a lovely couple. Their accomodation fees are low, and the food and atmosphere are very friendly. They gave us a ride to the city centre so that we could attend the "Ice and fire festival", and enjoyed describing every single miniature model of horses displayed in their house.

We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmanuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

The ambiance of this beautiful century home was amazing. Furnishings and linens were lovely. Room was extremely comfortable. Better than staying in a hotel. Cost for accommodation very reasonable. Would highly recommend this beautiful B&B to family and friends…they certainly wouldn’t be disappointed. Location was great. Will definitely return. Denise & Brian were gracious hosts and thank you both for a wonderful stay. Helen Barker Calgary, AB

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen3640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was travelling on my own and being with Denise and Brian was such a heart-warming experience. Denise is an inteerior designer and everything is done with so much love and care. The breakfast was fantastic too. Denise made every wish she could possible. I can not imagine a better place for someone travelling on her own.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllesGuteundbisdann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had such a wonderful weekend getaway at this Victorian beauty that we came back up the following weekend and have booked another weekend in August.
Denise and Brian are warm, wonderful hosts that not only welcomed us into their B&B but their home and I loved sitting with them by the fire pit and on the wrap around front porch.
Our ensuite bedroom was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Denise has thought of every little detail you would need to make your stay more comfortable from tea cups/wine glasses/mini frig in the room right down to toiletries in our private bath. The extra little touches are countless.
The breakfast Denise supplied was out of sight and plenty of it too. My partner especially loved her home made butter tarts and I appreciated the freshly brewed hot coffee and the table was so beautifully set.
This Victorian gem is located so close to Barrie's beach front board walk and biking trails that we walked them every night and morning. There are so many restaurants and pubs located just off the trail to sit and relax at.
I just can't say enough about Clydesdale House and I can't wait to get back there in August.
Joanna A.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

If you want to stay somewhere other than a big chain hotel, this is the place. The rooms are excellent, comfortable beds and all facilities. The hosts can't do enough for you. Very handy for the centre of Barrie, right next to a bus route and the lake. I stayed their for 2 weeks and thoroughly enjoyed myself. When I next go to Barrie will definitely be staying there.

Janet, Birmingham, England

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet1489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim_Bond_CGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
12.4 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#7 of 19 in Barrie
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Three Wishes B&B
Three Wishes B&B
#1 of 8 in Barrie
65 reviews
1.5 mi away
Richmond Manor Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clydesdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clydesdale House

Address: 38 Burton Ave, Barrie, Ontario L4N 2R4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Barrie
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clydesdale House is a 'Victorian' dating back to 1889 located in the heart of Barrie.The house has 4 fully renovated rooms, all with satellite TV (movie channels and HBO) and wireless internet.It is situated in a four season tourist area and is within walking distance to GO Transit, downtown Barrie, and waterfront attractions including beaches, festivals, concerts, cruises, shopping, and dining.A true bed and breakfast in the heart of the city.Owner, Denise Lane, is an interior decorator, feel free to ask her for advice during your stay!Breakfast is optional and prices reflect. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clydesdale House Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing