We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barrie Centennial Park

Barrie Centennial Park
Ranked #1 of 46 things to do in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great day trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Nice, clean beach, with a great park. I found the cost of parking a bit high for Barrie....$3/hr at the closest lot. I probably could have parked somewhere else for free, but had a longer walk.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    100
    22
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oldenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One-Day trip to Barrie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I traveled to Barrie with the Greyhound bus from Waterloo, ON which is really convenient if you don't have a car. It is approximately 1 1/2 - 2h away from Toronto and you can go back at the same time. It is nice to spend a day there but not longer (at least in summer time). However, I really enjoyed the walk along the lake and the lovely bar atmosphere of the main street. There is a n okay-trail to Orilla but I recommend a bike and a group of people going this way. I found it not scary but there are only a few signs along the way and it's quite a ride. Overall, I had a good full day in Barrie, but I can honestly say it is no place where I would come back to again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
248 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Good Place to Paddleboard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We made a day trip on a Sunday to Tropical North Shop on Dunlop Street, facing Memorial Park and Centennial Park Beach. Others were already stand-up paddleboarding, and the sun was shining on the lake past 4:00 rental returns (store closing time). By parking later near Victoria Street on the waterfront, the kids were able to enjoy the sandy beach beside the large playground and washrooms. For supper, we returned to Memorial Park on Dunlop and ate at Fresh Pho U, beside the surf shop. Though the food was pricier than in Toronto, the curry and chicken dishes were rather good--not spicy at all, a complement to Casa Cappuccino or Second Cup almost next door. It was a nice way to end a pleasant day at the beach, despite cool waters!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AnLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“worst so called 'beach' I have ever been to!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

first of all, i would like to say this beach is located on lake simcoe, i don't know about you but when I think of lake simcoe i think of piers and fishing docks, I have never heard of a beach in tiny lake simcoe. even if there where a few beaches how would have the sand gotten there? sand is caused by the pounding and irrigation of tidal waves breaking up rock, coral, and or any other deposited material along the shoreline. in lake simcoe the water mass is so small there are virtually no waves which makes me wonder is that really sand? when i got home from the 'beach' my feet where black and almost felt like i have had chalk powder stuck to my feet. i know of one beach in lake simcoe that have actually IMPORTED there sand, the beach is called moose beach right in the heart of orrila. it does not take a brain surgeon to find out it is an artificial beach. 1) sand is very granular and grass is growing on top in some areas 2) water gets deep fast there are no sand bars which makes it unsafe for kids 3) large amounts of sharp rocks are exposed from wave erosion when they POURED the sand down 4) right in down town Barrie (seem's a little strange) 5) go onto Google maps satellite view, that is the only beach within a 10 minute range from anywhere. all in all not a real beach sand is horrible water smells because of the treatment plant close by, and the back drop is very bad scenery (all buildings and nosy parking lots!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank lola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Love this park-nice walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I love walking around this park! There is always boats out to watch and the paths are well maintained and quite clean. We enjoy the variety of scenery, from busy stretches with groomed planted gardens (and washrooms!)to more secluded areas with lovely shade and trees and bushes full of birds, the beach area and playground with the sounds of kids playing. You can go for a long walk, or just a short stroll. They could use a few more benches or seats to sit and enjoy the scenery, and I think the cost of parking has gone up which may discourage some people but still, its a lovely walk, some very interesting sculptures along the way also.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mlynnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrie Centennial Park also viewed

 

Been to Barrie Centennial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing