We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houston Avenue Bar & Grill - Barrie - CLOSED

Houston Avenue Bar & Grill - Barrie
Price range: $23 - $37
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cundles
Description: We invite you to join us on a culinary adventure that is sure to please even the most discriminating palate. With our decidedly urban upscale vibe, you will discover a great new place to meet friends and family in style.From fabulous appetizers, innovative seafood and salads to our signature steaks and ribs, come enjoy a freshly prepared, simply delicious cuisine - all with a Houston flavour.
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our waiter Brian was amazing. So friendly and helpful. He made us feel like the only table there..all of the staff were extreamly friendly and attentive. The food was amazing and cooked to perfection. Hats off to the chef. Please try the stuffed mushroom...its nothing you've ever tasted...excellent food presentation and great price. I am extreamly satisfied and will definitly be a returning customer...even since i live an hour away...its worth the drive..surpassed my expectation..not like the typical restaurants out there!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boonyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    15
    19
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“First time trying Houston's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Went for a lunch and very much enjoyed the experience - service was fantastic, people very friendly - will definitely be returning

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I moved to Barrie this past May and since then my boyfriend and I have tried almost every restaurant in Barrie. I've been disappointed everywhere until we tried Houston's. The atmosphere was nice, music inside was at an appropriate level, the food was perfectly cooked and delivered a good timings as it wasn't rushed out but also didn't take forever. The part that will keep us coming back was the amazing service. We checked the restaurant out on a Friday night just for some glasses of wine, and we came back the next day for dinner and a bottle if wine. The service there remembered us and treated us exceptionally. Not only will we be back, we'll highly recommend Houston's as it is now our favourite restaurant in Barrie.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TahneeSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We went to Houston for lunch today. We had heard that their prime rib was outstanding so we decided to order the beef sandwich. It was fantastic! The meat was so tender and flavourful and the french onion soup to dip the sandwich into just added the final touch! We had a Caesar Salad on the side. Very good!
The atmosphere was enjoyable, very clean and lacked the blaring music that makes it difficult to hold a conversation.
Our waitress was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I came in for a glass of wine for the first time. I was treated so well by my bartender Nathalie. I was surprised by how lovely and cozy the atmosphere was. Great wine selection too. Will be back for sure! Great place for a girl's night out. :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank coco1of3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houston Avenue Bar & Grill - Barrie also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing